Hawaiian Burgers + WIAW #29

Happy What I Ate Wednesday!

I’m typing this up on Tuesday night when I really should be reading for Book Club…  I still have another 200+ pages to finish by Thursday!  So let’s just jump right into this weeks ‘What I Ate Wednesday Sunday’ post. :)

Pre-Breakfast Snack – 6:45 am

larabar

Mike and I had plans to go on an early 3 mile power-walk (in which I had killer shin splints, wtf?), so I ate a larabar before we took off.

Breakfast – 9ish am

A bowl of mixed berry greek yogurt, raspberries, blueberries + GoLean crisp cereal.  Plus, Dunkins hazelnut coffee with unsweetened almond milk.

Lunch – Noon

Lunch was whatever I could quickly throw into a cooler for the beach…   including freshly cut-up pineapple (addicted!) and a peanut butter, banana sandwich.

Afternoon Snack – 4ish pm

My favvvv snack plate: cheese, pretzel crackers, grapes + wine! Yep, I enjoyed 1/2 glass of chardonnay and it was delicious!

Dinner – 7:30 pm

Hawaiian Burger

Mike prepared an amazing dinner consisting of steamed green beans and Hawaiian burgers.  I believe I ripped the recipe out of an old ‘Better Homes & Gardens’ magazine but I can’t recall?  And Mike just tweaked it a bit.

Hawaiian Burgers

Ingredients for 4 servings 

1 lb lean ground, grass-fed beef
1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese
1/4 cup chopped onions
1/2 cup chopped pineapple (canned or fresh)
a few pieces of diced deli ham
a few dashes of sea salt + ground pepper
4 slices of cheese (we used cheddar)
4 whole wheat sandwich thins (or burger buns)
Optional toppings: lettuce, tomato, onions, ketchup, mustard, etc.

Directions

Combine beef, blue cheese, onions, pineapple, ham, salt + pepper together in a large bowl.  Mix well.  Shape the burgers into 4 patties, cook over medium heat on the grill + add the sliced cheese right before they’re done.  Enjoy the burgers on a sandwich thin or bun with whatever toppings you’d like!

You guys, these burgers were SOOO flavorful – you have to try ’em! :)

_ _ _ _ _

What do you usually pack to eat @ the beach?

What’s your favorite type of burger + toppings?

 

Comments

  1. I’m not a huge fan of pineapple, but I have heard hawaiian burgers are delicious. Which btw yours looks awesome. Thanks for sharing the recipe. It’s always good to have bookmarked incase I want to be adventerous one day & surprise the husband :)

  2. My fave burger is with avocado, mayo, tomato and bacon on it – delish!

  3. Oh I LOVE burgers and Hawaiian burgers are always yummy in summer! When I’m craving burgers I go big…I love bacon, sautéed onions, jalapeños, spicy cheese, LTO, mustard, and ketchup, and with fries of course…LOL!

Leave a Reply

