WIAW #28… Meatless Monday Edition

Happy Wednesday!  

Once again I’m linking up with Jenn and everyone for this weekly WIAW post.

WIAWbutton

This week I’m showing you my foods + drinks from Monday, which is also ‘Meatless Monday’ in the Doyle household.  Do you guys remember when Oprah talked about incorporating meatless days into our week and asked everyone to join her for ‘Meatless Monday’s’?  (Speaking of Oprah, I really miss her show!!)  Well ever since then (maybe 5 years ago?), I’ve tried to stick with it.  Ideally I’d like to include more meatless days into my week which will in turn increase my veggie intake at dinner time + also lead to healthier meals.  It’s a win, win situation!  

So here’s ‘What I Ate Wednesday on Meatless Monday’… 

Breakfast – 6 am

breakfast

 A bowl of strawberry greek yogurt, sliced kiwi, strawberries + granola with iced coffee, water + a prenatal vitamin. 

Morning snack – 9:30 am

Lunch – 12 pm

lunch

Oh, lunch…  I’m never in the mood to pick-up lunch items at the grocery store so a lot of the time I rely on breakfast foods to get me through the day.  And trust me, I’m not complaining ;)  Lunch consisted of 2 van’s multigrain waffles, all-natural peanut butter + lots of strawberries. 

Afternoon snacks – 4:15ish pm

pineapple

Pre-workout snack above (fresh pinapple) and post-workout snack below (trail-mix)…

Dinner & Dessert – 7:30 pm

I know, it looks like a basic salad but for some reason it still tasted delicious.  I’m guessing the goat cheese was the reason I liked it so much? :)  In the mix: lettuce, spinach, chopped tomatoes, carrots, 2 hard-boiled eggs, canned corn, crumbled goat cheese with a light balsamic vinaigrette dressing.  Plus, lemon water on the side. 

Dessert = 2 of these little bags….   Yummm!

 _ _ _ _ _ 

Do you include ‘meatless’ days into your week? 

What’s on your menu for today?

Comments

  1. Sometimes I have meatless days, but not intentionally. I go with what I am craving and listen to my body. And then at the end of the day I think, hey, I didn’t eat any meat. Ha. And your salad looks insane! I love hard boiled eggs on a salad.

  2. ranchcookie says:

    I love the idea of meatless monday’s! Not only for health reasons but I think it is a great way to reduce your carbon footprint!

  3. I’ve never done meatless Monday’s, but I think I might try it for all of 2015. I do a thing I made up called “veggie week,” where I don’t eat “anything with a face” for 7 days once a month. But I like the MM challenge, I think I’ll do both next year!

  4. ChickGettinFit says:

    Every day for me is meatless Mondays. After a while you get pretty used to not eating meat. I love the skinny cow snacks! They are such a perfect way to end the day!

Leave a Reply

