Tropical Pineapple Banana Smoothie (WIAW #27)

Happy WIAW!

WIAWbutton

With the weather in Boston becoming hot, hot, hot, my smoothie addiction is becoming out of control!  I’ve been enjoying a smoothie a day so it was no surprise when all I wanted for dinner the other night was yet another cold, refreshing smoothie.  Not only is a smoothie the perfect snack or meal any time of the day but there’s also en endless amount of ways to make a smoothie…  you’ve got the super healthy green smoothie, the fruit-filled smoothie, the tropical coconut water smoothie, the creamy greek yogurt smoothie, the protein-packed smoothie and on and on.  So many amazing options! 

But before we keep talking smoothies let’s start with my foods + drinks from earlier in the day…  

Here’s ‘What I Ate Wednesday Last Sunday’:

Breakfast – 7 am

My morning started with a bowl full of vanilla greek yogurt, blueberries, sliced banana, almond slivers + grape-nuts cereal.

Morning Snack – 10 am

A Peanut Butter Bear Naked energy bar – so good!

Lunch – 12 pm

A turkey, lettuce, tomato, avocado, cheese wrap with cherries and Cape Cod potato chips on the side.  Oh, and a glass of ice water…  this pregnancy has me chugging water 24/7.

Afternoon Snacks – 4ish pm

I packed a container of strawberries + blueberries for a ‘lil snack at the beach…

and then came home and stuffed my face with Oreos, ughhh.  But it’s OK, everything in moderation, right? ;)

Dinner – 8 pm

Apparently eating too many Oreos left me feeling kinda sick and not super hungry for dinner…   but I knew I needed something to hold me over through the night (plus, I figured the baby could use some more nutrients) so I quickly whipped up a delicious, protein-filled smoothie for dinner!

Tropical Pineapple Banana Smoothie

1 cup coconut water
1 cup frozen pineapple chunks
1 banana
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 tablespoon all-natural peanut butter
1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder

Blend & enjoy!

_ _ _ _

What’d you have for breakfast today?  

Do you crave smoothies during the hot summer months?

Leave a Reply

