A Green Smoothie a Day

…..keeps the doctor away!  Between the rain, crazy Spring allergies and being pregnant, this has been a tough week for me.  Which is exactly why I need to feed my body more nutrients to make it through the long work days.  Some mornings I’ll have a greek yogurt bowl loaded with fresh fruit for breakfast but during weeks like this when I really need more vitamins and a boost of energy, I’ll start my morning off with a fresh green smoothie!

green smoothie

Lately my ‘go-to’ green smoothie has included the following ingredients:

1 cup coconut water or unsweetened almond milk
1-2 handfuls organic baby spinach
1 cup frozen fruit – banana, blueberries, strawberries, mixed berries, pineapples, mangoes, etc.
1 cup fresh fruit {same list as above}
1 cup Greek yogurt
1 scoop of flax seeds, chia seeds or almond butter {optional}

Not only does this smoothie taste f’n delicious but it also starts my morning on a healthy foot and motivates me to stay that way throughout the day. :)

So what’s so great about a green smoothie?!

*Green smoothies are a great way to sneak veggies into your diet.  Just by adding spinach to a smoothie your loading up on vitamins, potassium, iron, calcium and magnesium {which is necessary for energy metabolism, maintaining muscle and nerve function, heart rhythm, a healthy immune system and maintaining blood pressure}.

*They’re quick & easy to prepare {and can easily be made the night before to save time on a busy, work day morning}.

*They’re high in antioxidants.  Not only are you giving your body the best defenses for disease, but you are ingesting a variety of natural substances that are essential for optimum health and fitness.

*Green smoothies are low in calories but very filling. Because they contain high amounts of water and fiber, they’ll make you feel as if you just ate a full meal.

*They provide you with a lasting source of energy.  A green smoothie is full of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and other nutrients that don’t bog down your digestive system.

*Unlike fruit juice or using a juicer, green smoothies use the whole fruit and vegetable so that you get all the fiber and nutrition.

*Green smoothies may even give you clearer & more radiant skin. Smoothies are high in fiber which allows your body to eliminate toxins the right way instead of through your skin.

Wanna know how to make your own green smoothie?

That doesn’t sound too hard, right? :)

Alright, time to log off and plop on the couch for the night…   Hope you all have an awesome, sunshine-filled Friday/weekend! 

Comments

  1. I can’t resist a smoothie on a hot summer day! And I love squeezing in so many healthy foods!

  2. I love making green smoothies. I can’t wait to try your recipe out.

  3. I love this green smooth recipe! I can’t wait to try it out! I used to LOVE green smoothies before I was pregnant, but they sounded awful while I was pregnant. Now my daughter is four months old and I am slowly starting to incorporate them into my diet again. I just found your blog! :)

Leave a Reply

