Tips To Become A Morning Exerciser

Now that the sun is rising earlier in the day, I’m excited to get back into my early morning workout routine!  I just feel so much better when I bang out a workout before 6:30 am and don’t have it hanging over my head all day.  Plus, it sets me up mentally and physically for a great day ahead. :)  And I know it’s not the easiest thing to do {especially if you’re not a morning person in general} but it’s so worth it in the end!  

REASONS why you should workout in the morning:

You won’t have to squeeze it in later in the day.  Between working late, happy hours, preparing dinner, doing laundry, walking the dog, picking up the kiddo’s, etc… there’s just so much to do in the evening and so many excuses as to why you don’t have time to workout.  Why not just get it over with in the morning before the craziness begins?

To revvvv up your metabolism. Morning workouts get your metabolism going which = more fat burning throughout the day.

You’ll avoid the crowds at the gym.  I get anxiety just thinking about how crowded and stuffy the gym will be after work and will do almost anything to avoid it.  Whereas, the gym is practically empty when you’re there between 5-7 am.  

You’ll only need to shower once that day!  

It’s cooler weather in the morning which is KEY during the hot & humid summer months.  The weather in Boston can be brutal in the summer which means I either have to run super early or not at all.  This thought alone usually gets me up and at it!

TIPS on how to do it:

Pack your gear in advance.  Before bed, set out your clothes, sneakers, headband, gym bag, iPod, protein bar, etc.  This will save you crucial moments and give yourself the peace of mind that you don’t have to do it all in the morning.

Prepare your breakfast, lunch & snacks for the next day. This will also help you sleep better at night and make your life easier in the morning.

Go to bed early.  It sounds like a no-brainer but you’d be surprised at how much easier it is to rise and shine when you’ve had a good nights sleep.  I’m usually in bed by 9:30 when I know I have to wake up extra early for a workout.

Plan out your entire workout. Instead of saying ‘I’ll go for a run in the morning’ or ‘I’ll head to the gym’ actually plan it out detail for detail such as, ‘I’ll run the 3 mile loop around the neighborhood and then stretch for 10 minutes’ or ‘I’ll use the elliptical for 30 minutes then focus on core work {crunches + planks}’.  Going to sleep with a set game plan is essential!   **Also, if you’re out of workout ideas, you should create a new ‘workout’ board on Pinterest and pin away! 

Do something you like.  So this tip goes along with the one above…  When you’re planning your workout, make sure it’s something you really like!  If you love yoga then sign up for the 5:30 am yoga class.  Or if you’re into spinning then plan a workout around the morning spin class at your gym.  I looove a morning run so most of my morning workouts revolve around different running routes.  

Find a workout buddy. You wouldn’t blow off 6am run when you know your friend is waiting for you, right?  Having a workout buddy makes you obligated to show up so make weekly dates with a friend — or spouse!

Think POSITIVE. The hardest part of being a morning exerciser is just getting out of bed but once you’re up and at it, you’ll feel a million times better!!!  So just think about the feeling of accomplishment and the amazing endorphin’s you get after a great workout!! :)  

 _ _ _ _

Do you have any tips or tricks to working-out in the morning?

Do you prefer AM or PM workouts?

Comments

  1. I have really been struggling with this one. I’ve set my alarm early three times this week, and managed to get my butt out of bed a half hour early one day, but that wasn’t enough time for me to get my morning run in. It has really screwed with my running schedule because the past two days, I knew I didn’t have time to run in the afternoon but I am just so tired! Tomorrow I absolutely HAVE to get up early so I can get my run in. I know that as long as I re-wire myself so I’m getting up early all the time, it won’t be as much as an issue, it’s just a matter of getting into a routine!

  2. Oh, that’s AWESOME!! I bet it feels good knowing that it’s over with :)

  3. I still wishhhh I could LOVE morning workouts. For instance, I bailed on the 6:30am spin class because I didn’t get a good nights sleeep…womp womp. Now i’m wishing I went and got it over with!! I had my clothes out and everything…bad Jacki. Hopefully as the warmer weather approaches it’ll help to get out sooner rather than later. Love these tips!

    • Oh, I’ve had that debate many times – if I can’t sleep at night should I still workout or not??? I usually feel better and more awake if I suck it up and workout! Btw I’ll meet you for a morning spin class. :)

Leave a Reply

