Peanut Butter Banana Fudgesicles!

Good morning!  

Well it’s Wednesday which means it’s time to talk FOOD.  Here’s this weeks ‘What I Ate Wednesday Monday’:

WIAW

Breakfast: I woke up starvingggg so I made a big bowl of GoLean cereal, grape-nuts cereal and blueberries with a cup of coffee on the side.   I followed it up with a few slices of Entenmann’s Raspberry Danish Twist…   Ahhh so good!  

Lunch: A tuna melt on whole wheat bread + a granny smith apple.

Afternoon snack:  Multiple bowls of Boom Chicka Pop…  I couldn’t stop eating it {thankfully it’s really low in calories so eating half the bag isn’t too bad} :) 

Dinner:  A cobb salad with mixed lettuce, tomatoes, shredded carrots, corn, hard boiled egg, feta cheese, grilled chicken and low-fat ranch dressing.  I also ate a bunch of Wheat Thins while making dinner {not pictured}.

Dessert:  2 home-made Peanut Butter Banana Fudgsicles!  

_ _ _ _

Let’s talk about that ‘dessert’ mentioned above….

How have I never thought of turning a smoothie into a popsicle or fudgesicle?!  

Through-out my pregnancy I’ve been craving sweets at night and I either have a healthy{ish} popsicle or multiple pieces of chocolates {and then promise myself I’m done eating crap and will eat better the next day}.  It finally occurred to me that I can easily make my own fudgesicles by using all healthy ingredients I already have in my kitchen.  Plus, by adding protein powder + peanut butter I can make the pops more filling and prevent any late night hunger pains.

peanut butter banana fudgesicle

Ingredients*

2 medium, ripe bananas

1 1/2 cups almond milk 

1/4 cup cocoa powder, unsweetened

1/4 cup all-natural peanut butter (or any nut butter)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon honey 

2 scoops protein powder (optional)

Directions

Add ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth & creamy.  Pour into popsicle molds and freeze for 5-6 hours.  To remove the fudgesicle from the mold, run warm water over the outside for about 15 seconds then gently twist.  Enjoy!

*Btw I’m pretty sure you can turn just about any smoothie recipe into a popsicle or fudgesicle so feel free to experiment with the ingredients!

Ta-Daaaaa!

I love that I now have a super easy, ‘go-to’ dessert I can eat without feeling guilty!! :)  

_ _ _ _

Do you always end the night with something sweet?  

What’s your ‘go-to’ dessert?

_ _ _ _

**Don’t forget to head over to Peas and Crayons to see what everyone else ate today!**

WIAWbutton

Comments

  1. THese look so yummy! I’m going to try them with almond butter…once i find some posicle molds!

  2. Homemade peanut butter banana fudgesicle?! I am all over that. And that cereal sounds super yummy in the morning… I also have been waking up super hungry this week! Maybe there is something in the air!

Leave a Reply

