No Equipment {Pregnancy} Workout

So I’ve been out of the blogging loop this past week since I haven’t had too much to talk about.  I used to love writing about my early morning runs, training for upcoming races and all things running related but now that I’m (almost) 28 weeks prego and finding it much harder to run, I’m also finding it more difficult to blog about my ‘workouts’.  My power-walks, prenatal yoga and at-home circuit workouts sound a little boring (especially if you’re reading this and not pregnant) but then again I love to read the workouts of other bloggers so I’m going to continue posting my pregnancy workouts in hopes that they give you guys (and me) a little workout motivation. :)

(Views from my power-walks last week)

Yesterday

I was exhausted…  But the it was in the 60’s and sunny so I forced myself out of the house for a quick 2 mile power-walk with jogging intervals.  Within a few minutes of being outdoors and moving, I started to feel sooo much better!  Seriously, the hardest part of working out is just changing into gym clothes and deciding to do it.

After the walk/jog, I did 3 rounds of this workout in my living room:

pregnancy workout

This workout tones your arms, shoulders, legs, butt, abs and core which is not only great for pregnant women but for anyone looking for a quick, at-home toning workout!

*Tips for the workout*

Tricep Dips: These can be done by leaning on a chair or coffee table and slowly lowering yourself to the floor. Or you can do them as I do and start in a tabletop position and slowly lower to the ground.

Triceps-Dip

Single leg press: There’s numerous variations of this move but for me I do it more as a pilates inspired exercise on the floor.

Here’s how:

1) Start on all fours, hands under shoulders and flat back.

2) Lift leg straight back, raise it as high as you can with toes pointed.

3) Slowly lower it back down to the floor, tap the floor and repeat 25 times with the same leg.  

Or you can watch this video to see the move in action.

Butt pulse (with or without weights):

1)  Start on all fours, hands under shoulders and flat back (same to the ‘single leg press’ position).

2)  Lift your left leg up from the floor, knee bent and foot pointed to the ceiling. Hold, then extend the leg further upwards. Keep your upper body stable throughout the movement.

3) Pulse leg upwards a few inches 30 times then lower to starting position.  

_ _ _ _

Local Fundraiser for Boston Peeps!

I want to mention a great fundraiser at Reebok’s International Headquarters called “Fitness for a Cause” where 100% of the proceeds will be donated to the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer which will take place in Boston on May 17th and 18th. The fundraiser itself is this Saturday, May 10th from 11 am – 1 pm in Canton, MA and includes two amazing fitness classes – a 45 minute Cardio Kick class led by Eliza Shirazi followed by a Barreless Barre class led by Catherine Marshall.  Click here for more information!

_ _ _ _

Alright, time to log off and quickly get ready for Book Club….

Hope you all have an awesome Friday/weekend!  And HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to all the amazing moms out there!! :)

 

Trackbacks

  1. […] too crazy in the workout world last week.  I managed to squeeze in 6 days of walk/jogs, some at-home circuit training and a great prenatal yoga class Saturday […]

Leave a Reply

