Spring/Summer Running Essentials!

So even though it’s currently in the 30’s here in Boston, I still feel the warm weather is right around the corner.  Which means it’s time to stash away the running spandex and break out your summer workout gear!  

Here’s my list of the must-have ‘Spring/Summer Running Essentials’:

Shorts: For the past 10+ years I’ve been a big fan of the Nike Tempo Shorts.  These shorts are lightweight, super comfy, have a small inside pocket and they come in an assortment of fun colors.

Light Tank Top: Running in the warmer weather means you’ll need a lighter, breathable tank top.  A current favorite of mine is the Lululemon Swiftly Racerback Tank.

Headband: Sweaty Bands are awesome because they actually stays in place thanks to the little strip of velvet under the band.

Sneakers: If I could give just one piece of advice it would be, don’t buy running shoes based solely on how they look or the price tag.  Buy running shoes based on fit and comfort (and it’s probably best to get a good fitting at a running shoe store).  Right now I’m wearing the Brooks Ghost 6 sneakers but I usually switch to the Brooks PureFlows on warmer days since they’re such a light-weight sneaker.

GPS Watch: With it being race season, a GPS watch is a must-have item.  I wear the Garmin 410 and can’t imagine training without it.

Water bottle: We all know that water is essential when it comes to working-out, especially on the warm, humid days.  I usually plan my running routes near water fountains or I keep a water bottle (loaded with ice cubes) in my car.  Just make sure you get a BPA-free bottle!

Sunglasses: The Oakley Oversized Sunglasses are perfect for running since they don’t bounce all over and they’re super stylish.

Sunblock: I always lather on the sunblock before my long runs – mostly to avoid funky tan lines but also to prevent sunburns!  A great sunblock for runners is the Coppertone SPORT Sunblock which is SPF 30 and sweat-proof. 

Music: It’s time to switch up the ‘ol playlist and/or Pandora station and jam out to some fresh summer tunes!  We all know that music can make or break a run so it’s important to change it up with the seasons.  Summer for me = Jack Johnson and a little Bob Marley. :)

Happy Running!

_ _ _ _

What are your favorite spring/summer running essentials?

Comments

  1. Ahh, can’t wait for the warmer weather to get here and put these summer essentials to good use!! Even put them to use for power walks w my lil preggers friend! :)

  2. How did you put that image together with all the different products?

  3. I wear Brooks too (for the past few years) and nothing tops them!! Love your list girly!

Leave a Reply

