WIAW #17: Veggin’ it Up

 Annnnnd the Veg it UpApril challenge continues.  It took me a few days to get into the groove but now I’m really starting to look forward to my daily dose of veggies.  Not only that but it’s also making me more aware of the foods I’m consuming.  In doing so I’m trying to cut back on my pregnancy cravings – chocolate, cookies, candy, ice cream – and feed my body (and baby:)) healthier, real foods.  So if you didn’t join this challenge yet, I highly recommend you give it a try!

Peas and Crayons

Here’s this weeks What I Ate Wednesday Sunday

Breakfast

yogurt parfait

This was by far the most flavorful yogurt parfait I’ve had in a while!!  In the mix: Oikos banana cream greek yogurt, sliced pineapple, a scoop of peanut butter and home-made peanut butter granola.  And I had my usual prenatal vitamin, glass of water and a cup of coffee w/ almond milk.

Morning Snack

Banana + almond butter + 20 seconds in the microwave = an awesome snack.

Lunch

Whole Foods Chicken Salad

I picked up a prepared salad + chicken salad from Whole Food’s and quickly threw it together for a tasty, filling lunch.

And there was still plenty of leftovers for lunch on Monday. :)

Afternoon Snack

I had this delicious green juice and snacked on Wheat Thins all afternoon. 

Dinner

Mike grilled up steak kabobs with green peppers, red peppers, tomatoes, onions and served it over brown rice.  For the marinade he just covered everything in Italian dressing and let it marinade in the fridge all day.  So freakin’ good!!  

**Don’t forget to head over to peas & crayons to see what Jenn and everyone else is eating.

_ _ _ _

Are you adding more veggies to your diet?
What’s the best thing you ate or will eat today??
Comments

  1. ranchcookie says:

    I love adding more veggies into my diet. Nothing is better than a big plate of roasted veggies! The best thing I have ate this week so far was my oats, topped with peanut butter and some granola! So good!
    That breakfast parfait looked and sounded fantastic! Banana cream yogurt sounds right up my alley! And why have I never thought of heating my banana and peanut butter up haha that is a GREAT idea!

    • Ohhhh I bet you’ll love the heated banana + peanut butter combo (just make sure you microwave it for only 20 seconds since anything longer makes it soggy)! I have that snack all the time :)

      I agree, roasted veggies are the best!!

  2. Yummmm that homemade peanut butter granola sounds right up my alley. Totally checking out the recipe for that and making it ASAP. And yay for feeding your body and baby with real foods!! Totally awesome to give into cravings once in a while (especially while preggers) but you’ll probably feel sooo much better sticking to the greens and veggies when you can. And yay for that green juice!! And all the nut butters. Yum.

Leave a Reply

