WIAW #16: Veggie Month Continues

Yessss its Wednesday which means we’re already halfway through the week!  And ready for another What I Ate Wednesday!

What I Ate Wednesday: Love Your Veggies

As I mentioned in my last WIAW post, I’m trying to include more veggie’s into my diet this month.  And so far, so good.  I start most days with a green smoothie (which has a handful or 2 of spinach) so that way I know I’m eating at least 1 serving of veggies for the day.  You’ll see in the pictures below that I managed to eat 3-4 servings of veggies (woah!) last Sunday, including a side salad (that’s 1-2 servings, right?), a sweet potato (although it is really starchy, it’s still a veggie) and broccoli.  

Alright, let’s jump into What I Ate Wednesday Last Sunday:

Breakfast

I needed a break from green smoothie’s for breakfast so I had a bowl of strawberry greek yogurt, granola, strawberries and a spoonful of almond butter.  And a tasty home-made iced almond milk latte.

Morning Snack

I was starving at the grocery store so I quickly found the granola bar aisle and chowed down on a Kashi bar.  

Lunch

Leftover pizza from Saturday night + a salad with balsamic vinaigrette dressing.  

Afternoon Snacks

Mike and I went for a 3 mile power-walk around the lake and finished our walk at the ‘Gingerbread Construction Co.’ (a coffee shop) for some fresh cookies and iced coffee’s.  I ended up enjoying 3 cookies. ;)

A few hours later, I was ready for more chocolate so I whipped up a little batch of Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding.  In the mix: 2 tablespoons of chia seeds, 1/2 cup almond milk and 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa combined in a small bowl. I stuck the bowl in the fridge for a little over an hour then added honey (for a little sweetness) and some strawberries.  

Dinner

 I cooked my first steak in the oven on Sunday night and it was a success!  I followed this recipe and was quite pleased with how it turned out.  I also had a big sweet potato topped with cottage cheese and broccoli.  A simple, delicious dinner.

And I ended the night with a few scoops of ‘Peanut Butter Cup’ ice cream straight from the container. :)

_ _ _ _ 

Do you eat veggie’s every day?  What’s your favorite?
What’s on the menu for today?
 
Comments

  1. Your eats look awesome!! I love sweet potatoes topped with cottage cheese!

  2. Looks like you’re doing a pretty good job sneaking your veggies in here and there!

  3. I try to eat veggies everyday, but sometimes it doesn’t happen! You really balance them out well! All of your eats sound just like things I would eat!

  4. Ashley @MilesonOats says:

    EMAGERHD. Can I swap you my boring sandwich for that loaded sweet potato? Seriously, cottage cheese on anything is life changing. But a sweet potato? I am sold.

  5. ranchcookie says:

    Oh I eat an insane amount of veggies, roasted are my favorite I could live off of them :)

  6. Great eats! I eat veggies every day and in the rare case I don’t, I crave them. Crazy, I know ;)

Leave a Reply

