Time To Workout!

Soooo…..   working-out while pregnant is definitely becoming more challenging, mentally & physically.  I’m so used to pushing it during my workouts and not stopping until I’m a tired, sweaty mess.  I’d give it my all during spin classes, eagerly go out for a long run on the weekends and loved (OK, ‘loved might be a little strong but I liked) adding HIIT (high intensity interval training) workouts to my runs.  But now that I’m 23 weeks along, it’s a whole new ball game. My workouts are really toned down and based upon how I feel each day.  And considering my stomach cramped up during my runs last week, I knew it would be best to take it easy and add more walking than running to my schedule this week.  Although it’s hard (mentally) slowing it down, I know I’ll have plenty of time to get after it once the ‘lil peanut arrives this August. :)

Here’s a recap of last week’s workouts:

Sunday: 25 minute power-walk on the treadmill + this circuit workout (thanks to Pinterest):

 

Monday: Barre & Soul class

Tuesday: 3 mile power-walk around the lake + a 20 minute prenatal yoga workout on YouTube

Wednesday: 2.5 mile power-walk with a friend (thanks for joining me Sheila!)

Thursday:

3 mile power-walk around the lake.  I was exhausted and 90% sure I was just going to plop on the couch after work but I pass the lake on my way home and it’s so hard seeing all the runners/walkers without feeling the need to join them.  So I sucked it up, threw on my sneakers and went out for a quick 3 mile walk.  And it was exactly what I needed to feel a little bit better.

Friday: Off

Saturday: 3 mile walk/jog on the ‘mill.  Yup, I added jogging intervals back into my workout and it felt great!  No stomach cramping!!

_ _ _ _

Workouts for YOU….

With bikini season only a few months away(!!!!), it’s time to commit to getting back in shape!  Here’s a few quick workouts that you can do anytime or anywhere – which means no excuses! :)

_ _ _ _

_ _ _ _ 

Here’s a bunch of moves that you can combine into a workout:

_ _ _ _

And last but not least, you can always do a awesome, challenging workout courtesy of Coastal Runner Girl ;)

 

 _ _ _ _

_ _ _ _

If you want some more workout ideas, you should head over to Pinterest.  That site has SO MANY workouts!

_ _ _ _ 

Any fun workouts planned for this week?

What’s your favorite workout at the moment?  Biking, running, walking, pilates, boxing, etc?

Comments

  1. We must have been Pintrest stalking each other! I found a lot of those workouts when Pip couldn’t sleep at 3am….
    If you haven’t done it yet, try wearing a belly band when you workout. It helps support baby’s weight to save your back and your muscles.

    Can’t wait to see you!!!

  2. Caitlin says:

    You continue to inspire me, Jules! I can’t even think about a bikini and I’m not even preggers…keep rocking it!

Leave a Reply

