Strawberry Chia Seed Jam

How am I 31 years old and just realized I can make my own jam instead of buying the sugary crap at the store?!  Sometimes I don’t know what goes on in my head.  I mean, I pack a PB & J sandwich a few times a week for work and every time I question why I’m eating such a sugary sandwich.  It’s basically a dessert when you add up all the sugar.  

So last night I whipped up my first batch of strawberry jam and not only was it super delicious but it was also insanely easy to prepare and healthy too!  Annnnd on top of all that goodness, chia seeds are da bomb.  Don’t believe me?  Check out this site for the ‘Top 10 Health Benefits of Chia Seeds’.

Strawberry Chia Seed Jam

Ingredients
(3-4 servings)

2 cups frozen or fresh strawberries
2 tablespoons chia seeds 
2 tablespoons water
A small amount of honey, sugar, stevia or any other sweetener

Directions

 1. If using frozen strawberries, let them thaw out or microwave them until defrosted.  I  measured out the frozen strawberries and let them thaw in a small bowl for about 2 hours.

2. Lightly crush the strawberries with a fork and/or masher.  Add the water, chia seeds and raw honey (and/or any other sweetener) and mix it all together.  Note: if you want the jam to have a thicker texture, don’t over mash the strawberries.

 3. Cover and place in the fridge for a few hours (this allows the chia seeds to expand and thicken) and enjoy.

You can store the jam in an airtight container in the fridge for about a week or so.

I can’t wait to spread the jam on toasted sourdough bread, add it to my plain greek yogurt and even mix a spoonful in with my morning oatmeal. There’s just so many options with home-made jam!  And I didn’t even get into all the types of fruit you can make into jams: blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, cranberries, mixed berries, apricots, peaches…  the possibilities are endless. :)

Comments

  1. This sounds so yummy! I’m totally going to try making it this weekend! Strawberries + chia seeds = the perfect combination.

  2. Wow, that sounds delicious!!

  3. I have strawberries and blueberries in the fridge right now! I hope they add up to 2 cups because I want to make a jam so bad! yummy!!

Leave a Reply

