Always hungry?

Sounds like you might need more protein in your diet.

Not only do I love protein because it’s extremely filling but I also love it because it tastes so damn good (seriously, how delicious is peanut butter??).  And since most of my favorite foods contain protein, it’s usually not too difficult to incorporate it into my snacks & meals.  So how can YOU get more protein?  Here’s some of my favorite ways:

Cereal

A lot of the healthy cereals & granola’s contain protein which is a great way to start the day.  I usually add it to a bowl of greek yogurt to make my breakfast extra filling.

Eggs (specifically free-range eggs)

Omelettes, egg sandwiches, hard-boiled eggs, poached, etc.

Greek yogurt

Is so good and full of protein!

Nut butter (almond, peanut, sunflower,etc.)

Add it to your banana, apple, celery, greek yogurt, oatmeal, toast, waffles and smoothies.

Protein bars 

I always keep a protein bar in my purse for whenever hunger strikes.  Lately the ‘peanut butter chocolate chip’ Larabar has been my jam! Some protein bars are more like candy bars so you should always check the amount of sugar and ingredients.

Protein powder

By adding a scoop of protein powder to your water bottle or smoothie, you can pack in a whopping 20g’s of protein.  Just make sure you read the label and purchase a healthy protein powder.  I typically like protein powders that are 100% Whey and natural such as this one.

Smoothies

Add a little protein powder, nut butter or greek yogurt to make your smoothie more filling.  Some of my tasty protein-packed smoothie recipes include:

Blueberry Banana Smoothie

Chocolate Almond Butter Smoothie

Chocolate Cherry Smoothie

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Smoothie

Summertime Smoothie

Trail mix

You can either buy it packaged or simply make your own. My ‘go-to’ mix is just a bunch of almonds, sunflower seeds, raisins and dark chocolate chips (or peanut butter chips).

What’s your favorite source of protein?

_ _ _ _ 

PS I made these Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Blondie Bars the other day and they tasted amazing!  And of course, they have protein (peanut butter) in them. :)

Leave a Reply

