It Finally Happened! And Pumpkin Pie Granola

After 6 years of running 5K road races, I finally finished in under 23 minutes tonight!  I actually did it in 22:30. :)

I feel like my best races happen on the days when I have zero energy and don’t wanna move at all.  Does that happen to anyone else?  Maybe my brain is too tired and it keeps me from over thinking about my pace?

Anyways, I knew I could either plop on the couch all night and kick myself in the butt for not racing or I could suck it up and run.  So I quickly ate a bag of sports beans (which I’ll be eating before every race!)

and drove down the street for the 6:45ish pm start time.

There was about 50-60 runners there tonight and we took off right as the sun was setting.  

I pushed it as hard as I could and just kept thinking about how the sooner I finish, the sooner I’ll be back in my warm car and on my way home to a warm shower and wine.  Wine is always a great motivator. :)   And it worked; my splits were 7:18, 7:21, and 7:11 with an average pace of 7:15.  Even though I wanted to puke when I finished, it was well worth it.

_ _ _ _ _ 

Now it’s time for a delicious, healthy pumpkin recipe.  I, like everyone else, looooove pumpkin season aka ‘Fall’.  I’m all about pumpkin spice coffee, pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin oatmeal, pumpkin beer, etc. so this evening when I was about to prepare a batch of almond butter granola I decided why not just make pumpkin granola?

Healthy Pumpkin Pie Granola

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseeds
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • couple dashes of cinnamon
  • dash of sea salt
  • 1 cup craisins
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup raw honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

1) Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.

2) Combine the oats, flaxseeds, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, sea salt, craisins, and chopped walnuts in a large bowl.

3) Add the pumpkin puree, honey, and vanilla and stir well, until all oats are completely covered (I used my hands).

4) Spread oats on a greased baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes, stir, and bake for another 10 minutes or until slightly brown.

5) Set the baking sheet on a rack and let it cool completely.  Store in the fridge. 

**You could also switch up the ingredients and add slice almonds, pecans, raisins, coconut flakes, chocolate chips, etc.

Though this granola tastes delicious on its own, I’ll probably add it to my greek yogurt or a bowl of almond milk with fresh fruit.  

_ _ _ _ 

Any one else trying to PR at a race?

Are you lovin’ pumpkin season or you over it?

Comments

  1. Yea you!!! Awesome job

Leave a Reply

