Clean Eating

Boy, oh boy, did I eat a lot of crap and drink way too many beers over the weekend.  I guess that’s what happens when you’re in DC for 3 days with friends?  Since I spent the majority of yesterday hungover/ barely functioning, I couldn’t wait to wake up this morning and start feeling like myself again.  And in order to do so, I need to start eating a cleaner diet.   No more pizza at 10 pm or late night diner stops for grilled cheese and fries.  This week it’s all about healthy good eats.  

First up?  A green smoothie for breakfast.

‘PB & J Green Smoothie’

In the blender:

  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 spoonfuls peanut butter
  • 1/2 – 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 medium banana
  • handful of kale (<– I’m def using spinach next time)

I packed up the smoothie and brought it to work with me. 

Maybe it’s just me but I was not lovin’ the kale as much as I like spinach in my green smoothie.  It had a really strong taste that overpowered the other flavors. :(  Do you guys like kale in smoothies?? 

Lunch

I didn’t have any ‘lunch foods’ at home so I took a quick break and headed over to Whole Foods.  I made a salad with with romaine lettuce, green beans, peas, corn, shredded cheddar cheese, 1 hard boiled egg, grilled tofu, and olive oil vinaigrette dressing.  Such a tasty, satisfying meal.

Dinner

Wild haddock with some EVOO, ground flax seed, and pepper on top.  And on the side I had roasted asparagus and butternut squash.  Although the haddock wasn’t my favorite and I kinda wished I splurged and went with the wild salmon, it was still an awesome dinner.  The butternut squash was very ‘fall’ tasting and delicious!

I also snacked on trail mix, green tea, and this Suja drink:

For real, eating healthy was pretty easy today so I’m hoping that feeling continues all week.  I have less than 4 weeks ’til my wedding/honeymoon in Aruba/bikini-time so I really want to be as healthy as can be!  

_ _ _ _ _ _

And to switch gears for a bit, lets talk workouts for the week.  Here’s my plan:

Monday: Off

Tuesday: 3 mile run + tabata workout (I’ll post the workout tomorrow)

Wednesday: 6 am Power Vinyasa class + weekly 5K road race @ 6:45 pm

Thursday: 4 mile run w/ hills

Friday: 6 am Power Vinyasa class

Saturday: Long run (maybe 10-12 miles)

Sunday: Easy 4 mile run

Off to catch up on the Kardashians and face plant in bed….    g’night, everyone!

Leave a Reply

