Great way to start a Sunday?

Is doing yoga with a friend! Yesterday started with an 8am yoga class in Burlington with my friend, Jacki.  We did the ‘Align, Flow, Restore’ class and although it wasn’t my favorite, it was still really nice to start my morning off with a good stretch and some meditation.  After yoga we walked next door and grabbed iced coffee’s and hung-out for a bit.

Btw how cute is her headband?  I don’t know where I’d be if I didn’t have Jacki around so I can copy all of her fashion/outfits. :)

And then I hit the road to meet Mike for brunch at a new diner in town.  Which is a big deal since Mike always wants to go out for brunch and I’m always the Debbie Downer saying ‘nooo, I don’t feel like eating a lot of crap today, I just want something light at home…..  blah blah blah’.  For some reason, I associate brunch with greasy home fries, bacon, sausage, and egg sandwich carb overload.   In other words, a lot of crap.

But I knew the day would come when I’d have to be a good fiance and go out for brunch.  So I made plans to go yesterday knowing that it was right after yoga and I’d be feeling positive and strong and more apt to order something healthy off the menu.

I went with a spinach and feta egg white omelette with a side of fruit and it was delicious!  I didn’t even miss my beloved home fries!

I even practiced this ‘order healthier options’ will power later in the day while I was out shopping with my friend.   We stopped to grab a glass of wine and appetizer and instead of ordering the spinach artichoke dip like usual we went with a lighter option, the spicy tuna tartare.

Another awesome choice!!  Do you realize how good it feels to leave a restaurant and not feel bloated?!  

_ _ _ _ _

Workouts for the Week:

Monday: 3 mile run + core work

Tuesday: Morning yoga

Wednesday: Weekly 5K Road Race

Thursday: Cross-train (prob elliptical) + strength training

Friday: 5 mile run + core work

Saturday: Off (I’ll be in DC for the wknd!!)

Sunday: Off

_ _ _ _ _

Are you good at ordering healthier options?

Favorite brunch foods?

Comments

  1. I’ve been out in NY for a couple weeks and so am adjusting to the brunch phenomenon. Back at home we weren’t much of the brunch people and I don’t usually like overloading so early in the day. But I love eggs florentine!

Leave a Reply

