The Simple Stuff

Today I ran 10 miles, went to Starbucks, did a ‘lil shopping, and plopped around my house.  And although I didn’t do anything exciting, it was still a perfect day and just what I needed.   The last couple of weeks months have been really hectic for me so it’s always nice to have a day with no plans and no where to be.

I feel like we live in a world where we’re all so busy running around, over planning, and stressing out that we never take a moment to enjoy what we’re doing and just live in the moment.   Maybe it’s because I’ve been taking yoga and trying to mediate more often, but it’s making me realize that I need to live in the present and recognize the small and simple stuff that makes me happy.

And in order to do so, I made a list of things that make me happy:

Grabbing Starbucks and shopping outdoors.

Eating lunch in the backyard on a beautiful day.

Fun quotes!

Hanging with my boys: Mike…

and Rocky.

Everything Fall: scented candles, apple-picking, the foliage (love!), pumpkin coffee, pumpkin flavored foods….  etc.

Soaking in my last days of early morning runs.

Watching the Red Sox {especially when they make it to the playoffs!!}

1. – Being in Boston w/ friends, 2. – Home-made apple crisp with whipped cream on top, 3. – Trips to Southie that end with PS Coffee, 4. – $3 wine from Whole Foods

And YOGA!  Yoga makes me happy. :)

_ _ _ _ _ _

What simple stuff is making you happy?

Leave a Reply

