Quick Weekend Recap and a Confession.

Hi guys!  Happy Sunday!

Let’s quickly catch up………

Friday

Mike and I checked out new restaurant down the street, The Yard House.  It was such a fun place filled with more draft beers then I’ve ever seen in my life but what did I decide to order?  Oh, just one too many glasses of wine, oppsie. ;)  Def going with the beer next time.   I can tell this will be a happening place during football season. 

Saturday

I was up and at at 6:15 for an early morning yoga workout.  I drove 20 minutes to the studio, filled out the new student paper work, and walked in all excited to get my ‘om’ on.  Welp, that idea went out the window as soon as I realized it was a HOT yoga class….   ughhh wtf?!  So I headed back home, changed into running attire and went out for a slow 3 mile run and then did a 30 minute online yoga workout (btw, the yoga video was really lame….  still working on finding a good online video)

After my workout, Mike and I drove to Westport to hangout with my friends for the day.  We packed up their ‘lil (but awesome) boat and drove a couple of minutes to Boat Beach where we spent the afternoon grillin’ and chillin’.

Oh and drinkin’ a bunch of beers.  Not the best idea the day before a long run but sometimes you just have to have fun and not worry about marathon training.  Right? (Side note: it was not the best idea – my long run sucked)

Today

Once again, I was up at 6:15 so I could head to Southie for my long run of the week.  The plan was to run 17 miles but that didn’t happen.  My calfs, achillies, knee’s, and right hip were all really bothering me so I finally gave in and stopped after 13 miles.  I really couldn’t even move so I’m not exactly sure how I’ll run 26.2 miles in a month but I’ll just worry about that later. :)

_ _ _ _ _ 

And my confession….

I feel like I’ve been a fake lately.  I preach about healthy, clean eating and making the right food choices but lately that’s really been the last thing on my mind.  Instead I’ve been eating a lot of CRAP.  And it’s left me feeling like CRAP.  Literally.  I was up Friday night with a stomach ache from eating greasy take-out earlier in the day and last night I was up again with a stomach ache from eating potato chips, 2 hot dogs, pasta salad, too many beers, and oh more chips.  And it’s not just this weekend where I’ve displayed 0 will power, it’s been happening a lot lately.

So what will I do about it?  It’s simple; I’m gonna cut the shit out of my diet.  I’m sick of being up all night with stomach issue’s and feeling bloated so I’m actually really looking forward to feeling healthier again.   First up, included a trip to the grocery store today to stock up on some healthy eats.  Here’s what I got:

  • salad stuff for my lunches (romaine lettuce, chickpeas, sprouts, green beans, shredded carrots and chicken) 
  • carrot sticks
  • roasted red pepper hummus
  • broccoli
  • green beans
  • strawberries
  • apples
  • dozen eggs <— cage-free!
  • greek yogurt
  • low-fat cottage cheese w/ chives
  • low-fat granola
  • fat-free microwave popcorn
  • tuna fish
  • lara bars
  • trail mix
  • frozen whole wheat waffles
  • almond butter

As long as I have healthy foods around the house, it’s easier to stick with a clean diet.  I hope! :)

_ _ _ _ _ _ 

OK, so I really need a good online yoga video…  ANY SUGGESTIONS?! :)

Do you also need to get back on the healthy band wagon?

Comments

  1. I use the Yoga Studio App on my iPhone or iPad: http://yogastudioapp.com/ You can find it in the iTunes app store. They have “pre-made” classes and build your own classes where you can pick poses and the app will put them together to make smooth transitions. It has beginner, intermediate, and Advanced. I love it. It’s like I’m having a private yoga session. I think it was $1.99 or something really inexpensive like that. You can watch a 15-minute beginner session on the website to see if you like it.

Leave a Reply

