What I Wear on Long Runs

Happy Labor Day, friends! 

So first off, how does a 16 mile run only amount to 24,419 steps on my pedometer?!?  I feel like it should be closer to 40,000, right?!?

This morning I headed to Castle Island {yet again} for my long run of the week.  The first 4 miles of running in the rain flew by but once the rain abruptly stopped, I was left struggling with 93% humidity levels for the next 12 miles.   But I did it and now I can check my 16 mile run off my training schedule. :)

_ _ _ _ _ _

Speaking of running long distance, I finally figured out what running attire works best for me.  It’s taken a few years but I think I finally have it down to a T.

What I always wear on long runs (from head-to-toe):

Headband: I wear the super skinny sparkly headband (or occasionally the thicker 1″ black headband) from Sweaty Bands.  The headband is great since the inside is made of velvet which prevents it from slipping off my head.

Sunblock: Aveeno Face SPF 30 lotion on my face and then I use SPF 30 spray sunblock for my arms, chest, and shoulders.

Anti-Chafe stick: Yup, I finally caved and bought this stuff for my armpits and it’s made my long runs so much more enjoyable. 

Sports bra: ‘Run: Stuff Your Bra II’ by Lululemon.  Guys, seriously this sports bra is amazing!  It cost a fortune compared to my usual Champion sports bras at Target but with out a doubt it’s worth the investment.  Not only does it keep your girls from bouncing around but it’s also super comfortable.  And as a bonus it has little built-in pockets in the front to hold your chap stick, keys, cash, ID, etc.

(I have the bra in black)

Tank Top: I wear this running top from Target.  It’s nothing fancy but it works and doesn’t ride up when I’m running.  And since they’re so cheap I was able to stock up and buy 3 of them.

Watch: I’m pretty much obsessed with my splits and look at my Garmin 410 running watch at least once every 5 minutes.  As long as I don’t touch too many buttons, this watch is pretty easy to use. 

Shorts:  I usually run in the Nike Tempo shorts but my other favorite style is the ‘Game Day Shorts’ by Oiselle.  These shorts are super light, comfortable and they stay in place.  They also have a rear zip pocket which is ideal for holding my big car key.  

Socks: I picked up these socks at the running store and can’t say enough good things about them.  So I’ll let the website describe how great they are:

FEETURES!® Ultra Light Cushion No Show :: Eliminate painful blisters and experience pure running comfort with Feetures! patented Coolfeet Ventilation System and seamless PerfectToe™. Enjoy the perfect combination of cutting-edge innovation and superior fit and feel with the Coolfeet Ventiliation System that provides unique 360° mesh ventilation for maximum air flow and breath-ability. Plus, power bands of Lycra® soothingly hug the foot and keep socks in place. Feet stay cooler, drier and fresher – thanks to Feetures! iWick™ moisture managing fibers.

Sneakers: I’ve been wearing Brooks for a few years now and lately I’ve been lovin’ their PureFlow 2.  They’re lighter than most of my running sneakers which makes them feel pretty awesome.  

**And on my WISH LIST….    These lovely, polarized Oakley Womens Overtime Sunglasses:

 _ _ _ _ _

What do you LOVE to wear while running?

What’s on your wish list?

 

Comments

  1. I’ve been wearing nike’s basic running shorts and a lulu lemon tank top with built in bra. Cute, comfortable and it stays in place. For long runs I usually don’t pack/bring anything too special.

Leave a Reply

