What I Ate Wednesday, Week 5!

Happy Wednesday, Everyone!

Friday nights and Saturdays are usually cheat days for me.  Actually, I don’t even like that term ‘cheat’ day since I cheat everyday (it’s all about the 80/20 rule for me: 80% healthy, 20% whatever the f I want).  Anywho, Friday nights/Saturdays are the days when I tend to eat out at happy hours, get take-out, and just play it by ear.  So Sunday is my day to get back on track and start the week off right!!  Plus, by the time Sunday rolls around I’m usually sick of crappy foods and/or a bit hungover (why do a couple craft beers cause a hangover?!  That’s so not right in my book) so healthy foods are much more appealing to me. :)

With that said, here’s this week’s What I Ate Wednesday Sunday!

Breakfast

I plopped around Sunday morning and drank some home-made New England’s hazelnut coffee (delish) w/ almond milk

and around 10:30ish I was finally hungry so I whipped up a Strawberry Banana Smoothie. In the mix: plain greek yogurt, almond milk, frozen banana, frozen strawberries, and ground flax seeds. 

Snack #1

I’m usually a ‘eat 3 meals and 2 snacks a day’ person but after eating a filling breakfast late in the morning, I wasn’t in the mood for a real lunch so I snacked throughout the afternoon.  First up?  A deliciously ripe peach.

Snack #2

A ton of pretzels w/ dip….

You guys, this dip is crazy good!   Seriously.

And I refilled my water bottle w/ sliced lime and lemon and bunch of times.  I heart water.

Snack #3

Grapes and more grapes.

Dinner

Salad w/ mixed lettuce, sliced cucumbers, black beans, carrots, crumbled gorgonzola cheese (the only cheese we had on hand), grilled corn (not the usual canned corn), and grilled chicken.  I also added this tasty salad dressing on top.

_ _ _ _ _ _

As always, thanks for hosting WIAW Jenn!

 

Peas and Crayons

_ _ _ _ _ _

 

How do you start your week off on the right foot?

Exercise?  Eating clean? Vegging out??

 

Comments

  1. I usually start the week out by vegging out and doing some prep work on the food and exercise front for the week! In the summer I find myself leaning a lillll more towards Sunday Funday if I’m at the lake. Thanks for sharing your eats!

  2. I love that salad you ate for dinner! Looks so good. All my favorite things in one bowl! That will be going on the Thurston/Ott menu – except we don’t have a grill…

  3. Oooh your smoothie looks to die for! I “cheat” during the weekends too, and I’m always ready to get back on track by Sunday!

  4. I definitely eat more on weekends to. It’s something about having that pantry there with you all day long….I always eat the least and the healthiest on Mondays. It’s my fresh start. I like to kill my workout and get a good night’s rest :)

  5. I have never thought to make a strawberry banana smoothie before! And it’s such a classic :) Thanks for the great idea, it looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

