Chocolate Almond Butter Protein Smoothie

Annnnd it’s Day #5 of our heat wave which means I either run super early or not at all.  So today I got up and at it at 5am and headed out for a 5 mile run.  Yea it was humid and I was covered in sweat within 6 minutes but thankfully there was a beautiful sunrise so it made the run a tiny bit more enjoyable. 

Breakfast

As soon as I arrived home, I watered my poor thirsty lawn and then headed to the kitchen to whip up a chocolate almond butter protein smoothie.  I’ve had this smoothie so many times before (especially last summer during my smoothie addiction) and yet I always get excited for it.  Chocolate + almond butter (or peanut butter) + protein = the best combination ever. 

Chocolate Almond Butter Protein Smoothie

803

In the mix:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 big scoop almond butter (about 5 grams of protein)
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder (110 calories & a whopping 24 grams of protein!)

Post Workout Protein

Speaking of protein, on most days I try to have protein shortly after my workout.   Other days it doesn’t happen and that’s fine but I know it’s better for me when I have some sort of protein post workout.  I’ve read tons of articles on the benefits of it but basically here’s what it comes down to:

  • It’s great for weight loss,
  • It provides you with instant energy
  • And it revs up your metabolism

But it’s also important for athletes to consume protein following a workout for the RECOVERY benefits.  Protein provides the optimum amount of protein, carbohydrate, amino acids and other nutrients which necessary to repair torn muscles fibers.  It also helps in recovery of your muscles tissue and starts regeneration of your new muscles fibers.  Athletes or bodybuilders looking to build muscle mass and strength should consume 30 to 45 g of protein, while others can see benefits from 15 to 30 g of protein.

_ _ _ _ _

Do you have protein post workouts? 

What type?  Protein shake, chocolate milk, protein bar…  ??

Comments

  1. Sunrise is beautiful!! I’m actually drinking a smoothie right now for bfast too. Mine is banana, strawberries, blueberries, 2 huge handfuls of spinach, protein zone smoothie (NAKED brand), and some almond milk. We don’t have protein powder on hand so I used about 1/4 cup Naked protein juice! It has hint of pineapple, mango, coconut, soy and whey protein..yummy!!

  2. Sounds flavorful! I’ll have to buy more of those Naked drinks asap!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Chocolate Almond Butter Smoothie […]

Leave a Reply

