2 things that make summer running a 100x better/easier/more doable:

1) A great, UPBEAT playlist or station on Pandora.  My go-to is always my girl, Rihanna on Pandora. 

Yesterday, I tried waiting for the weather to cool down but it didn’t so I finally headed out for my run around 6:45 when it was still 88 degrees.  Everytime I got hot and wanted to walk, I turned up my music and tried to zone out to Rihanna, Beyonce, Usher, Pink, etc.  All the upbeat music made me get into a groove and just go with it.  Seriously, it works.

2) Running with a water bottle or along a route with water fountains.

If I run around the lake or Castle Island I know I’ll be A-OK since there’s a bunch of conveniently placed water fountains along the course.  But when I’m running around my neighborhood there’s no water so it makes a HUGE difference if I run with my little water bottle.  This morning it wasn’t too hot but the humidity levels made it hard to breath and that’s when the water comes in handy!  It makes it possible to keep going and get a decent workout without throwing in my towel and calling it a day.  

Also, in case you’re wondering, I barely even notice the water bottle while I’m running.  It’s so lightweight, small, and easy to hold. 

_ _ _ _ _

Dinner

After my super slow run (aka jog) around the lake, I came home to a delicious grilled pizza courtessy of Mike. 

I may be going out on the limb but I think this is our favorite meal of the summer!  (I know it’s not the healthiest but it’s oh sooo good.  Besides, I ate healthy all day (yogurt parfait, mixed nuts, salad for lunch, fruit) so pizza for dinner is fine by me :D)

Ham, Arugula, and Gorgonzola Cheese Grilled Pizza

Ingredients:

  • store bought pizza crust or you can make your own
  • tomato sauce
  • chopped slices of ham
  • crumbled gorgonzola cheese (or any cheese you like)
  • fresh arugula

Directions:

1) Place a pizza stone on the grill and wait for it to heat up.  While the stone is heating, lay the pizza crust on a baking sheet and add tomato sauce, chopped ham, and crumbled gorgonzola cheese. 

2) Transfer the pizza to the hot stone and grill for about 8 minutes.

3) Remove the pizza stone and place the pizza directly on the grill (to make it crispier) for about 2-3 minutes.

4) Remove the pizza from the grill and add the arugula on top.  Enjoy!

(Btw, I just noticed our pizza was slacking with the arugula :(  We usually add a lot more on top.)

There’s something about grilling a pizza that makes it so much tastier!

_ _ _ _ _  

What are the 1 or 2 things that make your summer running better/easier?

What’d you eat for dinner?

Comments

  1. Erin K. says:

    Can you post the recipe for grilled pizza?!?! Sounds amazing!!

    How much water should you drink during the day if you run a couple miles everyday in this heat?!?!

    • Hey Erin! I had the recipe in there but I’ll revise it to make it a more user-friendly!

      Oh good question… I drink A LOT of water everyday so I’m not sure but if you’re running in the heat just make sure to have water before your run, bring some with you (if you can), and then chug more as soon as you get home. Are you running with John?! :)

  2. Just ordered a hydration backpack for my long runs – hoping that’ll make those runs easier. Having a friend to run with helps too! (…and knowing that the pool is calling my name as soon as I’m finished.)

  3. The grilled pizza looks great! I can’t run on anything other than the treadmill. I can’t pace myself for anything! :)

Leave a Reply

