Wknd Recap & Paleo Pancakes!

Yesterday

1. – Fuel for my 7am run.  I ate half of the bar before the run and the other half after and the GU was enjoyed at mile 2 (I really needed the energy), 2. – Overcast & drizzling during my 7 miler in Southie :D 3. – Relaxing at home w/ a beer, 4 & 5. – Lots of yummy app’s at Mike’s niece’s 2nd birthday party, 6. – And cocktails at the party.  Gotta love kid’s parties!

Today

This morning I woke up craving pancakes which is so not normal for me.  I usually want a cold yogurt parfait or smoothie in the summer but not today.  Since I ate a ton of crap at the party last night, I wanted the pancakes to be on the healthier side.  I whipped up a batch of paleo pancakes and they turned out tasting pretty darn delicious!

Ingredients:

(For 1 large serving)

  • 2 ripe banana’s
  • 1 egg
  • 2 big spoonfuls almond butter
  • a couple dashes of cinnamon
  • coconut oil (for the skillet)

Directions:

1) Combine the bananas, egg, almond butter and cinnamon in a food processor and blend until smooth.

2) Heat the coconut oil on a non-stick skillet over medium heat.  Pour the batter onto the skillet and cook on each side for about 3 minutes or until they start to bubble (They cook fast so make sure to flip them before they burn (this took me a couple of times to figure out))

3) Top with honey and fresh fruit.  Enjoy!

_ _ _ _ _ _

After breakfast I quickly packed up my stuff and headed out to Nahant beach to meet up with a friend.

Btw, the hourly forecast showed a crappy, super cloudy day but the weather turned out to be perfect!  Why is it so hard to find an accurate forecast??  I’ll have to find a better weather website ASAP. 

After the beach I went for a 3 mile power-walk around the lake in Wakefield with Mike and now I’m plopped on the couch watching the Red Sox game.  It’s been a pretty nice Sunday.

_ _ _ _

What’d YOU do this weekend? :)

Anyone else have a long run?  How was it? 

What’s the BEST website for ACCURATE weather forecasts???

Leave a Reply

