16-Wk Marathon Training Schedule!

Good morning!

Well, I guess I’m running my first marathon this Fall.  I wasn’t planning on it but since Mike is doing one, I have to do one too.  There’s no way I could run a half marathon and watch him finish a full without beating myself up.  So we’ll do one together! Well not together together but we’ll start together. :)  We’re running the Hartford Marathon on Saturday, October 13th.  We ran the half last year and had a great time so I’m sure the full is just as good.  Plus, they have an awesome beer tent.

Training

After checking out a bunch of websites, I finally found one (from marathonrookie.com) that works for our schedule:

16-Week Marathon Training Schedule
Week Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun Total
1 3 Rest 4 3 Rest 5 Rest 15
2 3 Rest 4 3 Rest 6 Rest 16
3 3 Rest 4 3 Rest 7 Rest 17
4 3 Rest 5 3 Rest 8 Rest 19
5 3 Rest 5 3 Rest 10 Rest 21
6 4 Rest 5 4 Rest 11 Rest 24
7 4 Rest 6 4 Rest 12 Rest 26
8 4 Rest 6 4 Rest 14 Rest 28
9 4 Rest 7 4 Rest 16 Rest 31
10 5 Rest 8 5 Rest 16 Rest 34
11 5 Rest 8 5 Rest 17 Rest 35
12 5 Rest 8 5 Rest 18 Rest 36
13 5 Rest 8 5 Rest 20 Rest 38
14 5 Rest 8 5 Rest 9 Rest 27
15 3 Rest 5 3 Rest 8 Rest 19
16 3 Rest 3 Walk 2 Rest 26.2 Rest 34.2

This training plan has 4 days of running and 3 rest days whereas a lot of the other plans only give you 1  or 2 rest days.  I know that 3 rest days is key for us since it’s the summer so we’re usually busier and don’t have time to workout 5 days a week nor do we want to in the crazy hot/humid Northeast summer weather.

Another great thing about this 16-wk plan is that it includes rest days before and after the long run.  I know that some people like to do a slow, easy run the day following a long run but not me.  I’d rather give my legs complete rest so they’re fresh for the next week.

So how was week #1 of  training? 

As you can see from the plan, it was a pretty easy week so no complaints here. :)  For the week day runs I tried to beat the heat and did them at @ 5:15am.  Yesterday I went to Castle Island in Southie to complete the 5 miler.

It was a ‘muggy as hell’ type of morning so my pace was slower than usual (around 9ish min/mile) but at least it was overcast so I didn’t have the sun beaming down on me.

 _ _ _ _ 

Have you run a marathon? 

What do you look for in a training plan? 

 

Comments

  1. yay! This is awesome, you’ll do great!!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Slightly based off my marathon training plan… […]

  2. […] (based off Week #6 from my marathon training plan) […]

  3. […] based off this marathon training […]

  4. […] I’ll be in a hotel room until Friday, I’ll do a modified version of Week # 8 from this marathon training […]

  5. […] (loosely based off this marathon training plan) […]

Leave a Reply

