A missed workout and a summertime “salad”.

Yesterday’s workout didn’t go as planned.  Actually it didn’t go at all.  My allergies were killing me so I ended up plopping in bed as soon as I walked in my house (I know excuses, excuses…….  so lame)

(Lazy, allergy ridden days = more time with this lil’ stud)

But on a good note, I pulled my lazy butt out of bed around 7:30 last night and prepared a simple yet delicious dinner.  I got the idea from a recipe on the awesome blog skinnytaste.com.  This meal (or side-dish) is basically a bowl full of spinach, a little whole wheat pasta and some other fun ingredients.  So easy, right?  And it’s a much healthier alternative to the usual pasta-filled dinner.  Why do we fill our bowls with pasta when we could fill the majority with spinach?  Don’t get me wrong, I looooove whole wheat pasta but I also know that I feel better when I cut back on carbs in the evening. 

(There’s more pasta hiding under the greens (and sorry for the not-so-great iPhone pictures!))

Summertime “Salad”

In the mix:

  • whole wheat pasta
  • fresh spinach leaves
  • roasted broccoli
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • crumbled feta cheese
  • salt and pepper
  • bbq marinated grilled chicken

Directions:

1) For the roasted broccoli: place broccoli florets in a mixing bowl and add about 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil and some salt and pepper.  Mix it up.  Pour the broccoli onto a baking sheet and bake at 375 for about 15-20 minutes or until tender.  Set aside.

2) While broccoli is roasting boil a pot of water, add pasta and cook for 9-10 minutes.

3) In a large bowl, combine the cooked pasta, spinach leaves, roasted broccoli, extra virgin olive oil, a little balsamic vinegar, crumbled feta cheese, and salt and pepper.  I topped my bowl with chopped bbq marinated grilled chicken.  Enjoy!

I included ingredients that I had on hand but the possibilities are endless!  You could also add:

  • roasted brussel sprouts or cauliflower
  • corn on the cob or canned corn
  • grilled asparagus
  • chopped carrots
  • sautéed mushrooms
  • grilled peppers
  • peas!
  • olives
  • crumbled goat cheese or mozzarella cheese
  • chopped ham, salami, proscuitto or other deli meats

And on and on. :)

_ _ _ _ _

What are you having for dinner tonight?

Anyone else have crazy allergies right now?

Looking forward to any workouts this week?

Comments

  1. Yummy! Thanks for another great recipe!

  2. This looks so delicious! This will definetely go on the menu for next week!! I know you posted this yesterday, we have spinach artichoke chicken with greenbeans and pasta salad! Tonight is turkey burgers with roasted veggs and a 3-5 mile run! :)

Leave a Reply

