BEYOND THE MANTRA

After my alarm rudely went off at 4:40 AM, I turned it off and told Mike “nope, we are not going to the gym.  I slept like crap and I don’t wanna move!”  But within 3 minutes I talked myself out of it and we quickly changed and headed off for an early morning workout at our new gym, LA Fitness.

And I felt like a million bucks after.  Sometimes a good, sweaty workout is all you need to get your day going on the right foot!

_ _ _ _ _

As we discussed yesterday I just decided to run a half marathon this Sunday.  Long story short, the race was supposed to have been on March 3rd and I followed a 12 week training program during the winter even running in snow storms, on icy roads, in freezing cold weather, etc. but due to snow right before the race it had to be cancelled.  So here we are just days from the rescheduled date and I haven’t trained since, well March.  But it’s OK because I have a plan thanks to the Runner’s World magazine!  And oh it’s a good one!

The article is titled “Beyond the Mantra” and it was so inspiring!  I highly recommend everyone go out and buy the May Runner’s World.  

The article was all about how reciting positive thoughts is fine, but to really run your best, you’ve got to shout down your inner critic.  Isn’t this something we ALL struggle with?!  You’re out running and all you can think about is how tired you are, how your legs are sore, how it’s OK to slow down you worked hard enough…  blah blah blah.

Well we need to STOP the negative self-talk and put effort into positive thinking.  This not only includes on race day but during training as well.  Positivity is critical. 

“Negativity, whether it’s worry or doubt, often leads to self-defeating behaviors including slowing down, cutting a workout short, or dropping out of a race.  “It is the self-fulfilling prophecy.” says Cindra S. Kamphoff, Ph.D., director of the Center for Sport and Performance Psychology at Minnesota State University.  Mentally strong runners don’t go there.  They use their thoughts and their training to feed a belief in themselves.  The became my goal.”

The author went out and trained her brain for mental toughness.  She did that by following a plan:

  • Select a performance goal
  • ID your weakness
  • Set process goals
  • Develop focus tools
  • Sync it up
  • Practice, practice, practice
  • Reinforce process goals
  • Prep for race day
  • Visualize executing your race plan
  • Stick with routine

So there you have it; my plan for the half marathon on Sunday and my plan for all my runs…    It’s all about positive thinking!

Happy Friday, everyone!

Comments

  1. I just signed up for a half in three weeks, wasn’t planning on doing it, but a half off registration brought out the crazy in me. I just ran one last week, but with only three weeks to go, I have been trying to figure out how to really train for it. Thanks for this, I am going to go grab it at lunch!

Trackbacks

  1. […] thinking about the article Beyond The Mantra and changed every negative thought that crossed my mind into a POSITIVE ONE (My legs […]

Leave a Reply

