Time to train for the half of Quincy!

This morning I made a healthy smoothie/juice for breakfast.  But unlike most days when I prepare a smoothie, today I actually switched it up and added an avocado to the mix and it made everything so creamy and delicious!!  Why haven’t I thought of this before?

JT’s Berry Good Smoothie

In the mix:

  • 1 1/2 cups coconut water
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen fruit (I used raspberries and strawberries)
  • 1 cup spinach 
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax seeds 

_ _ _ _ _ _

Half Marathon

OK, let’s talk about my half marathon training.  Or shall I say my lack of half marathon training.  Ever since the race was postponed back in early March I just haven’t been as dedicated to a training program and sadly I haven’t been trying to get faster.  As of today I have 32 days to figure my sh*t out!!     

So how will I do this?  I should say I’m going workout 6 days a week but realistically that’s not going to happen so instead I’ll adopt a training plan that will work for me.  I travel for work, I’m moving, and I have sort of a life so my goal is to find time for 4 quality workouts a week. 

Here’s the plan for this week:

  • Monday: rest
  • Tuesday: run 5 miles
  • Wednesday: long run (9 miles)
  • Thursday: cross-train (15 min’s elliptical, 15 min’s stairmaster, weights)
  • Friday: speed workout

  • Saturday: rest (Moving Day!)
  • Sunday: rest (unpacking/shopping for house/drinking day!)

_ _ _ _ _ _

What’s your workout today?

Are you training for a race?  Which one?

 

Leave a Reply

