Monday’s Motivation and a 5K PR!

 Only a couple of months until bathing suit season!!!

_ _ _ _ _ _

Can I tell you how much I love living in Southie on St. Patrick’s Day?  Besides Christmas, my birthday, and Cinco de Mayo (I heart corona light’s and mexican food), I think St. Patrick’s Day is my next favorite holiday.  And what better place to celebrate the holiday than in Southie! The streets are full of excitement, the crowds are crazy, the parade lasts all afternoon, and the 5K St Patty’s Day race starts only feet from my front door! 

For the past 5 years, Mike and I start the day off running this 5K.  And like we do every year and with most races, we make a “friendly” bet.  Yes, I love competing with Mike.  Well I’m happy to say that I won the bet this year (Mike was also sick but a win’s a win ;))  I also PR’d by a minute on my 5K time and finished in 22:11.  I’m not sure if I had a good race because I obsessively looked at my Garmin or because of the later 11am start time but I felt great and pushed it the entire race.  I also only allowed myself to think postive thoughts which I’ve noticed is key to running a good race. :)

 

Breakfast before the race: oatmeal, scoop of almond butter, and strawberries

Some random goodies from the race registration

Post-race beer on the roof deck

The parade on East 4th Street

Making our way back towards the west side…

_ _ _ _ _ _

How was your weekend?  Busy, low-key, relaxing….  ? 

Did you run a St. Patrick’s Day race?  How’d you do?

Comments

  1. I love that little bottle coozie! I had a low key weekend filled with school work – no fun! :) Happy Monday!!

Leave a Reply

