Wake-Up Smoothie!

Wow boxing kicked my ass again!  Does it ever get easier?  I just got back from the 5:30am class and quickly got to work on preparing a protein packed smoothie.  I’ve been reading a lot of articles about the importance of consuming protein right after a workout in order to build muscle and lose weight.  So today’s smoothie had a lot of protein thanks to the greek yogurt.  I’m calling this one the “Wake Up Smoothie” since it’s loaded with fruity flavors and it’s an awesome way to jump-start your day.  Boo yah!

Wake-Up Smoothie!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup Silk Fruit & Protein – Mango Peach flavor (2.5g protein) <— or you could substitute orange juice
  • 1 serving Chobani vanilla greek yogurt (16g protein)
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 3 ice cubes

Blend & enjoy!

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Some days you just need a little umph in order to make it the gym after work.  Actually I always need a lil’ umph when I workout in the afternoon.  So yesterday was no exception.  After having a slice of chocolate cake (it was a birthday cake; I couldn’t say no) I decided it was time to break open this must needed coffee, protein shake:

And it did the trick.  I made my way over to the gym after work and completed a treadmill workout of sprinting 800 meters, jogging 400, and repeating (the same workout I did last week).  I did this for 40 minutes while watching Ellen and it wasn’t that bad.  Don’t get me wrong, I would have prefered doing it outside but the ol’ dreadmill wasn’t as horrible as usual.

After my workout, I picked up Mike’s V-Day gift and then headed home to whip up a simple, healthy dinner.  I prepared a bowl of whole wheat quinoa with frozen mixed veggies and leftover steak tips.  I also added some EVOO and sprinkled some parmesan cheese on top.

Don’t you love dinners that only take 15 minutes to prepare?

_ _ _ _ _ _ _

What gets you to the gym after work?  Coffee?  Tea?  Energy gel’s?  A workout partner?

What’s your workout for today? :)

Comments

  1. Coffee protein shake? It sounds too good to be true!! :)

Leave a Reply

