What NOT to eat before a run.

I know it’s only 6am but today is already starting off on a much better foot than yesterday.  Don’t you love it when you actually get more than 4 hours of sleep?!  And no I didn’t miss out on zzzzzz’s from partying too much during the Super Bowl…   it’s only because I woke up at 4am and couldn’t fall back asleep.  But it’s OK because as soon as I reached my office, I was awakened by a big box of banana and pear greek yogurt.  Woohooooo!  Thanks Chobani!

I’m already planning on using the banana flavored greek yogurt to make pancakes this Sunday.  Ideally, I’ll wake up early and run 11 miles then make pancakes or better yet I’ll convince Mike to make them while I’m icing/stretching.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

As soon as I got out of work, I hit up the grocery store and picked up a couple of items for dinner last night.  I made cilantro lime shrimp, roasted broccoli, and a baked sweet potato (potato was for Mike).  The shrimp turned out tasting fantastic!  I combined the following in a large bowl and marinated it for a little over an hour: 1 lb of shrimp, fresh lime juice, shredded lime peel, chopped fresh cilantro, a little EVOO, salt & pepper.  Then I warmed up a large wok on the stove for a couple of minutes, added the shrimp with the leftover marinated, and cooked it for about 8 minutes.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Earlier today I was talking to my friend (who’s also a new runner, yay) and she mentioned having a horrible stomach ache after her 9 miler last weekend.  We went over the types of foods she should eat before a run and what she should stay clear of.  And thanks to FitSugar.com, I’m able to share a similar list with you guys!  If you wanna check out the article, just click here.

The Worst Foods to Eat Before A Run

1) High-protein shakes and bars: Protein is an important fuel source, but oftentimes, high-protein bars and shakes can be hard to digest and don’t contain a sufficient amount of carbs to keep energy levels consistent. For longer runs, aim for 25-40 grams of carbohydrates and 10 grams of protein.

2) Nuts, fruit, and veggies: While all of these items are nutrient-rich snacks, fiber-rich foods can result in a run that is painful and sometimes impossible, as your body works to digest these foods. The end result? Cramps and stomach discomfort midstride. 

3) Dairy: Dairy isn’t always the best choice before a big run. Cream cheese on your bagel, or even that stick of string cheese with your oatmeal, won’t leave you with more energy, just an upset stomach. On top of that, dairy can actually deplete energy because it slows down the absorption of carbohydrates to the body.

4)Fatty foods: Donuts or a greasy breakfast of hash browns may be tasty, but they can cause havoc on your body if you plan a workout immediately after eating. Foods high in fat leave the body feeling bloated and sluggish since fat is not as easily turned into energy as protein and carbs.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

What’s your “go to” pre-run meal or snack?

I usually have a granola bar about 2 hours before a race.  And I make sure it’s low in protein and fiber.  If it’s a longer race such as a half marathon then I’ll eat whole wheat toast with jam or butter. :D

 

Comments

  1. yay!! THANK YOU! I need to experiment this weekend with granola bars before my 10miler! I want to be prepared for the big race…last weekend was miserablee around mile 7 but I was able to push through it. If I had 6 more miles to go I’m not sure I would’ve made it.

Leave a Reply

