Mini Cauliflower Mac & Cheese

Good morning!

Yesterday’s workout included a trip to good ol’ Gold’s Gym.  If it wasn’t 12 degrees (w/ “feels like” temps of 0 degrees!) than I would have run outside instead of the gym.  I’m SO over this freezing cold weather!  I headed to the gym and ended up doing 4 miles of running/power-walking intervals.  The intervals included 2 minutes of hard running, 1 minute of power walking, repeat until 4 miles.  I wanted to run further but I was a) on the dreadmill b) a hot mess and c) bored to death.   **If you’re lookinig for new idea’s on the treadmill you should def. add intervals to mix things up!** 

OK, on to more exciting stuff!  You guys ready for a delicious, kind of nutritious, awesome recipe?  I was craving mac & cheese yesterday so I decided to make a healthier version by using cauliflower instead of pasta.  I also baked it in a cupcake pan since mini foods always taste better.  Right?  This meal is sooo good that you don’t even notice you’re eating cauliflower and not macaroni (seriously, Mike asked multiple times if I included any pasta in the mix….) 

Mini Cauliflower Mac & Cheese

  • 1 large head cauliflower, cut into medium florets
  • 1 1/2 cups reduced fat, sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup low-fat milk
  • 3-4 Tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp chopped chives
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 sleeve whole wheat Ritz crackers (or whole wheat bread crumbs)

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line cupcake pan with muffin liners (or I’m sure you could spray them with non-stick spray if you prefer).

2) Bring a large pot of water with a dash of salt to a boil.  Add cauliflower florets and cook for 5-7 minutes.  Drain and add to a large bowl.

3) Add 1/2 cup of shredded cheese and butter to the bowl.  Mix until the cheese is melted.

4) In a medium bowl, combine the eggs, milk, salt, and chives.  Whisk until combined.

5) Add the egg mixture into the large bowl and mix in the whole wheat flour and remaining cheese.  Continue stirring until everything is blended.  (Add more flour if needed)

6) Pour the mixture into each cup until 3/4 full then crumble the Ritz crackers on top (I used 1 cracker per muffin cup).

7) Bake for about 20-25 minutes or until the tops are lightly golden.  Cool and enjoy!

These cauliflower mac & cheese bites can be eaten alone as a meal or they’d be great as an appetizer at a party!  I’m thinking of making a batch for my Super Bowl Party. :D

Comments

  1. this looks amazing!! Definitely going on the menu for next week! =) ughh, I have my 4 on the dreadmill todayy…..

  2. Yummy! I’m heading to the store to buy all the ingredients now!!

Leave a Reply

