An attempt at a track workout and baking.

On my way home from work yesterday, I was 92% sure I was going to reach my apartment and plop on the couch for the night.  The weather was 20-something with “feels like” temps of 18 degrees(!!!) and I was in no mood to deal with the 5pm gym crowd (plus I hadn’t shaved my legs in a week sooo the gym was not an option).  It was either run outside or do nothing.  After repeating these motivational quotes all day, I knew I had to bundle up and brave the frigid temps.

The only part of me not covered was my poor face….   I’m thinking I should invest in a face mask.  Does anyone have one?  Do you like it?  Besides my frozen face, the rest of my body was warm and toasty within 15 minutes of the run.

I jogged a mile to the track and ended up running a mile @ 7:30 pace, jogged for a couple of minutes, ran a mile at 7:20 pace, then jogged a mile back home.  I know it wasn’t the craziest workout and my mile times were slow but I guess it’s better than nothing.   

Why are track workouts so painfully hard?!  And why am I not getting any faster?  Actually, I know the answer to the latter question; it’s because I’m not including enough speed work to my training ughhh.  I should be able to run a mile on the track faster than 7:20!  And I really want to PR at my races this year so I’m gonna have to suck it up and schedule more speed work each week (more as in actually doing it every week).

Dinner

Dinner last night included scrambled eggs with goat cheese, toast with almond butter (I had another piece but ate it before this pic’) and strawberries on the side. :D

…….and then came the fun part of the night (or so I thought).  I attempted to bake a healthier, more filling version of my beloved peanut butter cookie.  Too bad my first attempt turned out super dry. :(  I’m gonna tweak it a little and will hopefully have an amazingly chewy, protein packed peanut butter (or almond butter) cookie for you in a couple of days. 

Stay tuned, folks!

Leave a Reply

