Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead

2 days ago:

Today:

I woke up at 5:40 and quickly hit the roads for a 6 miler in the snow and sleet.  Running in the snow isn’t that bad.  It’s the crazy wind and sleet hitting my eyes every second that bothers me.  But I will take red, sore eyes any day over working out in the hot, smelly gym.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Have you guys seen or heard of the documentary “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead“?  I watched it last night on Hulu and it was awesome!  It’s such a motivating and inspirating story. :D

Here’s a tidbit from their website:

“100 pounds overweight, loaded up on steroids and suffering from a debilitating autoimmune disease, Joe Cross is at the end of his rope and the end of his hope. In the mirror he saw a 310lb man whose gut was bigger than a beach ball and a path laid out before him that wouldn’t end well— with one foot already in the grave, the other wasn’t far behind. FAT, SICK & NEARLY DEAD is an inspiring film that chronicles Joe’s personal mission to regain his health.

With doctors and conventional medicines unable to help long- term, Joe turns to the only option left, the body’s ability to heal itself. He trades in the junk food and hits the road with juicer and generator in tow, vowing only to drink fresh fruit and vegetable juice for the next 60 days. Across 3,000 miles Joe has one goal in mind: To get off his pills and achieve a balanced lifestyle.”

I’ve been thinking about trying a cleanse for a couple of months now and after watching this film I’m convinced I need to do it.  I’m not starting it today but I did want to know what the juice tastes like and prepare myself.  So after my run I quickly prepared a juice with what I had in the kitchen.  In the mix: a handful of spinach, a frozen banana, 5 strawberries, an apple, 2 celery stalks, and a couple splashes of coconut water (to get everything moving). 

 I also used my food processor since I don’t have a juicer and it worked out great.

Honestly, the end result wasn’t that bad.  It taste like coconuts and apples…  yum!

The guy in the film, Joe did a juice cleanse for 60 days which is something I would never, ever, ever consider but I will look into a 3 day cleanse.  I just need to figure out if I should make my own juice (time consuming), order it (sounds great but it’s $$$), or buy the bottles at Whole Foods (also $$$).  I’ll keep you posted!

Questions:

Have you tried a juice cleanse?  How was it?  How many days?  Did you eat any food on the cleanse? 

 

Comments

  1. Matt and I were all prepared to start our new year with a cleanse…worked for about 3 hours. But once we are in our new place (with our kitchen unpacked) I really want us to get serious and try to be consistent! Good luck, Jules!

  2. Ahhh you moved in together? Congrats!!!

    You should def watch the documentary with Matt right before you start your cleanse…. it’ll pump you up :D

Leave a Reply

