Goat cheese and a track workout

Seriously is there anything that goat cheese doesn’t go with?  Nope, none that I can think of.  Lately I’ve been adding it to so many of my meals, including tonights dinner.  Tonight I prepared a simple, delicious dish with ingredients that we had on hand in the kitchen. 

In the mix: whole wheat penne pasta, frozen shrimp, broccoli, extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice, goat cheese, red pepper flakes, and ground pepper. 

I might have added a couple too many red pepper flakes but besides my lips being on fire, the rest of the meal was really good!

Workout

This afternoon I decided to brave the cold temperature’s (I think it was in the 20’s with the wind chill) and ran outside.  I layered up, threw on my new running sneakers, turned my Pandora statioin to Rihanna, and jogged down the street for a quick track workout.

I didn’t have an actual plan in mind but I ended up finishing a great workout and left feeling exhausted and out of breath. :D 

I ran 8×400’s with about 20-30 seconds rest in between each one.  Between not being able to breathe in the cold weather and my legs feeling like jelly, I almost called it quits after running 4 laps.  Part of me felt that 4 laps was better than nothing (well barely better than nothing) but the other part knew I needed to push it if I want to PR at my next half marathon.  Here’s a couple of mantra’s I repeated to get me through the workout:

You have to work off all the crap you ate the last couple of days.  Keep going!!” 

“If it doesn’t CHALLENGE you, it doesn’t CHANGE you”

“The sooner you’re done, the sooner you can walk”

“The sooner you’re done, the sooner you can drink wine”

“PR. PR. PR!”

And yes, it really took a bunch of mantra’s to get me through this pretty simple workout. 

Once I arrived home I had Mike take pictures so I could show off my matching outfit and then stretched for a couple of minutes.

 _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Btw, I read this article in Women’s Health and it discussed how slowing down your workouts can actually help speed up your results.   

The article discussed how you should spend 5 seconds to lower yourself for each of these moves.  Do you guys do that?  I always thought I did these exercises in slow motion but definitely not 5 seconds slow….  Guess I have to work harder at this.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Are you a fan of goat cheese?

Did you work out today?  What’d you do? :)

Leave a Reply

