12 Week Half Marathon Training Plan!

Hi friends!

How was your Christmas?  Mine was busy but also really fun.  We woke up to a white Christmas morning in Massachusetts and hung-out with Mike’s family and then eventually made our way up to New Hampshire to enjoy the day with my family. :D

Today

Wow, today has been slooooooow going.  I was able to sleep in til 8 this morning and then just puttered around my apartment for a couple of hours (I’m actually still puttering at the moment).  For breakfast, I was craving something healthy so I prepared a bowl of strawberry Chobani greek yogurt with banana slices and GoLean Crisp.

And brought it to my bed so I could spend more time warm and cozy under the blankets.

While in bed, I put together a new training plan for my half marathon that’s in 12 weeks (I’ll do anything to stay in bed a lil’ longer).  I based it off a couple different plans that I’ve loosely followed in the past.  I knew I wanted 2 rest days, 1 long run, 1 day of speed work (repeats on the track, intervals on a treadmill, or hill workouts), and at least 1 day for cross training.  Here’s what I ended up with:

**It’s important to note that this plan is for an Intermediate Runner.  Also, it’s just a guide to my training and I’ll most likely switch around the workouts and the rest days.  I have to be flexible with my days and base them around:

a) the weather forecast (snow storms, ice, etc.)

b) my work schedule (travel plus my part-time job in the winter)

Although I won’t stick to the plan 100%, I will make sure to run the designated long run each week since I know that’s key to running a great race.  My best half marathon time is 1:44 (7:57 pace) so my goal for the race on March 17th is to beat this time.  Thinking positive!!

OK, time to hit up the treadmill at the gym for a quick speed workout…

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Do you follow a training plan for a half/ full marathon? 

How many days a week do you run?

Anyone else running a St. Patty’s Day race?  Which one?

 

Comments

  1. I like your training plan! It’s a little bit more advanced than where I am at right now, but it’s nice to see! I’m doing my first half first weekend in May – so I haven’t exactly started my training plan yet, but will do relatively soon. I’ve just searched around on the internet to land one that I think fits my life.

    • Thank you, Jenny! I just made a more beginner plan for my friend that I can send you? Or you can start the long runs at a shorter distance such as 4 miles and slowly work your way up each week… let me know if you have any questions :D

Leave a Reply

