Progression run?

I finished my first progression run today and I loved it!!

What is a progression run?  It’s when you start slow and finish fast.  You aim to run each mile faster than the previous one.  This meant my first run was on the slower side (8:23/mi) and each mile after got faster and harder (8:08, 7:50, 7:37,and 7:15!)  The last mile was really challenging but I just pictured myself finishing a race and gave it my all!  I don’t think I’ve run a 7:15 mile in years?

When I set out for the run I thought I was going to hate worrying about my pace (I usually just run and not worry about my time.)  But surprisingly, constantly my Garmin every couple of minutes and concentrating on my pace made the 5 mile run fly by!

Why did I even do a progression run?  I was reading the January Runners World this morning and it had an article about “Coaching Yourself” and how to train and PR at your next race: 

Basically, progression runs boost your fitness and train your body to run faster while fatigued.

This is something that I always strive to do but I don’t put in the proper training to do so.  BUT that’s going to change.  I know I have to plan my training ahead of time instead of just winging it.

So here’s my plan for this week:

  • Sunday: Long run = 8-9 miles
  • Monday: Easy run (prob. 5 easy miles)
  • Tuesday: Rest day
  • Wednesday: Speed work
  • Thursday: Cross-train (elliptical, stairmaster, weights)
  • Friday: Rest day
  • Saturday: Progression run! :)

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Do you like progression runs?  How often do you run them?
Do you plan your workouts every week?

 

Leave a Reply

