Green Monstah Smoothie

I was so close to sleeping in this morning but after weighing myself and realizing I gained 6 lbs over the past couple weeks, I got my butt out of bed and hit the road for a 5 mile run.  I don’t know why I thought I was being so healthy in Germany when in reality on my last 4 day trip I had 2 cheeseburgers with fries, alot of white bread, and even had a candy bar for dinner!?  I also ate some fruit and granola bars but when dinner time came around I kept opting for fatty, comfort foods! :(

I don’t believe in diets nor do I ever stick to them.  So to lose the weight I’m going to do it by eating fresh healthy foods, less processed crap, and continue working-out! 

To start my day off with LOTS of healthy nutrients, I prepared a Green Monstah Smoothie!  In the mix:

  • 2 cups of baby spinach
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 6 strawberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax-seed
  • 2-3 ice cubes <— probably didn’t need ice since the frozen banana did the trick

Add all ingredients to the blender and enjoy!

OMG it was so good!!  Seriously!  I thought it would come tasting OK-ish but it was delicious and something I’ll be making all the time.  Spinach is a great way to LOAD up on Vitamin’s A and K….. Hellz yeah! :D

I also made a Black Green Monstah Smoothie for Mike.  I switched up the ingredients and added the following to the blender:

  • 2 cups baby spinach
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup coconut flakes
  • 2 ice cubes 

Let’s hope he likes it!  Alright, time to head to the Cape…  talk to ya later.

**UPDATE: Mike liked it but we both agreed the Green Monstah Smoothie was better than the Black one! I just need to tweak it with a little something.  Maybe add almond butter?  Or a banana? :)

Trackbacks

  1. […] Lunch: Green Monstah Smoothie and a glass of water.  This meal might look light but it filled me up for hours! […]

  2. […] Sandy soon approaching, my work was closed today.  So instead I woke up early and prepared a Green Monstah Smoothie, did an intense cardio workout from OnDemand, checked out recipes online, ate lunch (no […]

  3. […] plans with my friend to take a boxing class at 5:30 tomorrow morning!!  And I just prepared a green monstah smoothie for my post-workout breakfast.  So at least tomorrow will start off on the right […]

Leave a Reply

