Bringing Back The Fanny Pack

Good morning! 

I just got back from a 6 mile run and boy was it a struggle.  I know everyone has their good days and bad days with running but I feel like I’ve had a lot of painfully tough runs lately!  Maybe I’m out of shape from traveling for work?  I’ve been in Germany twice this month and I’m flying back again today!!  It’s putting a lil’ damper on my training for the half marathon but I guess I’ll have to adjust my goals for the race and not worry so much about PR’ing.

But even though the run wasn’t my best, I was still able to enjoy a peaceful morning run which is going to be few and far once the weather get’s colder and the morning’s are too dark for running.

Let’s rewind to last night….

Someone bought a fanny pack!

I did!  I did!  I actually felt super dorky and tried to hide it while walking home from the running store…..   but I’m hoping in time it’ll grow on me and I’ll be a little less self-conscious.  I’ve thought about purchasing one for a while to make running with my keys, energy gu’s, debit card, etc. a little easier but couldn’t justify spending 20 bucks on a FANNY PACK!?

But I own it and now I have to learn to ROCK it!  Fanny packs are the new black!  Do any of you guys have a running belt?  Is it comfortable while running?

Dinner

Mike prepared a big batch of “Mike’s Mean & Lean Turkey Chili” in the crock pot on Sunday so we enjoyed leftovers last night.  I love how he enjoys preparing big Sunday dinner’s while watching football!  It means I can sit back and drink while he does the hard work. :D

The following went in the crock pot (but you could make this chili with just about anything…):

  • 2 lbs ground turkey
  • 2 large cans whole peeled tomatoes
  • 1 can of tomato paste
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1 can of corn
  • 2 red peppers
  • 2 green peppers
  • 1 onion
  • 2 small jalapenos
  • cumin
  • garlic
  • chili powder
  • salt and pepper

Yum!  It has the perfect combination of spicy flavors to make this a delicious and filling meal.  

Time to start packing for my trip…..   See ya in a couple days! :)

Comments

  1. I’m so glad you posted this recipe — I accidentally bought ground turkey instead of ground pork the other day, and was deciding what to do with it. Last night Jeff said — how about turkey chili? I found a recipe for pumpkin turkey chili, but now I’m going to make a hybrid of that one and Mike’s.

    Jeff says he has running fanny belt too! I don’t remember it, he said he wore it few weeks when running back from Evan’s preschool and he liked it fine. See, and I don’t even remember thinking he looked dorky. You’ll be fine.

    Germany again??!!

    • Oh, sounds good! Let me know how your chili turns out!

      Jeff has a fanny pack? We’ll have to load them up and go for a long run when I visit you guys ;)

      Yup, heading back to Hannover and possibly Munich and then I should be done with Germany for a while. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

