Paleo Pumpkin Spice Muffins

Happy Friday!  Ummm how is September almost over?!

Since yesterday was the perfect Fall day, I went out for a 5 mile run and ended up doing 6 just so I could enjoy the beautiful weather. 

And boy was it a hard run grrrr!  I’m definitely out of shape from traveling and had to stop a bunch of times to catch my breath. :(  But I’ll continue running over the weekend and will get back to where I was before my trip. 

I was also able to kill 2 birds with 1 stone by doing errands on my run.  Bank? Check.  PS pumpkin spice coffee? Check. :D

Fall Recipes

Alright, let’s talk recipes.  I love pumpkin recipes and have been craving them for a couple weeks now.  Unfortunately the people in Germany and Austria don’t feel the same way as I do.  Either they don’t eat delicious pumpkin recipes or I just didn’t see any?  So yesterday I was determined to bake something paleo, pumpkin flavored, and easy.  I bring to you……

Paleo Pumpkin Spice Muffins (w/ walnuts)

**Inspired by this tasty recipe over at Nutrition Nut On The Run

Ingredients (9 muffins)

  • 1 cup almond meal/flour
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup almond butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • chopped walnuts for batter and to sprinkle on top (optional)
  • raw sugar for sprinkling on top

Instructions

1) Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and blend until smooth.

3) Fill paper-lined muffin tins 2/3 full, then sprinkle the top of each muffin w/ chopped walnuts and sugar.

4) Bake for approximately 26-28 minutes.  Let cool before serving and store in an airtight container. 

Enjoy! 

Comments

  1. yummm…I need to try these!

Leave a Reply

