Pan Seared Scallops w/ Beans and Spinach

Hi friends!

Today started really early for a Monday morning….  At 4:50am, I forced myself out of bed and jogged my way over to the gym.  I’m traveling to Germany and Austria tomorrow so I really wanted to squeeze in one last good workout before I take off.  But that didn’t happen.  Yes, I worked out and broke a little sweat (I hope) but it definitely wasn’t a great workout.  This is what happens when I show up at the gym with out a plan.    

Even though it wasn’t a stellar workout, I’m still happy I made it to the gym!  So here’s a little Motivational Monday” for you guys:

Breakfast

After my workout, I quickly got ready for work and threw together a bowl of old fashioned oats, with a spoonful of peanut butter, and fresh strawberries.  Quick and easy. :D

Let’s back up to last night…

Dinner

While reading the paper yesterday, Mike noticed that scallops were on sale for $13.99/ lb. (sooo not a sale if you ask me) but Mike was excited so he picked up scallops and prepared a delicious dinner from our “Cook This, Not That” book.

Pan Seared Scallops w/ White Beans and Spinach

Ingredients

  • 2 strips bacon, chopped into small pieces
  • 1/2 opinion, minced
  • 1 clove garlic,  minced <— we didn’t include this
  • 1 1/2 cans white beans
  • 4 cups baby spinach
  • 1 lb large sea scallops
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • Juice of lemon

Directions

1) Heat a medium saucepan over low heat.  Cook the bacon until it has begun to crisp.  Add the onion and garlic; saute until the onion is soft, 2-3 minutes.  Add the beans and spinach and simmer until the beans are hot and the spinach is wilted.  Keep warm.

2) Heat a large cast-iron skillet or saute an over med-high heat.  Blot the scallops dry and season with salt and pepper.  Add the butter and the scallops to the pan and sear the scallops for 2-3 minutes per side, until deeply carmalized.

3) Before serving, add the lemon juice to the beans.  Season with salt and pepper.  Divide the beans among 4 warm bowls or plates and top with scallops.

**We also added grilled asparagus as a side to the meal.

Wow, so friggen good and super filling!!  This meal is loaded with protein and left me stuffed after 1 serving, which usually doesn’t happen for me.

Tip: The book also pointed out that you can buy scallops for a fraction of the price by buying them frozen…   such a good idea!  I always buy frozen shrimp so why not buy frozen scallops?

Comments

  1. Ahh, I’m with you on this one! I was going to cook scallops on Friday but Matt and I got to the grocery store and deided against it when we saw the price (13.99/lb)!! We opted for the frsh sushi instead:)

Leave a Reply

