10 Miler = Sweaty Mess

Happy Friday!!!  Yeahhhh!

I just got back from a hard, sweaty 10 mile run.  My body felt OK during the run but my head just wasn’t in the mood for a long run on a super muggy day.  I woke up at 5:45, quickly changed, grabbed my Garmin, energy gu and iPhone, and hit the road towards the Charles River.

I ran through Downtown Crossing, the Boston Commons, and along the Charles River until I hit the 5 mile mark.  That’s when I took the vanilla bean gu (such a good flavor! :)) and turned around and headed back towards Southie. 

How are the leaves changing colors and falling already?!  And how is summer almost over?? 

It was a tough run but I finished!  And I feel a million times better!!  My pace was on the slower side but I tried kicking it in towards the end and ran a couple faster miles.

Tomorrow I plan on doing an easy 3 mile run just to get the legs moving and then I have a 5K race on Sunday morning.  Not sure how I’ll do since I haven’t been doing speed workouts but hopefully if I overdose on lots of coffee and energy gu’s, I’ll do alright. :D

Breakfast

After my run, I whipped up yummy a Strawberry Banana Protein Smoothie.  In the mix:

  • Strawberry Chobani greek yogurt (14 g. protein)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 6-7 strawberries
  • 3/4 fat-free milk (7 g. protein)
  • big scoop of peanut butter (7 g. protein)
  • 2 ices cubes

Btw, never ever throw out a really ripe banana!  Peel it, cut it up into chunks, and freeze it for a smoothie.  They’re actually better than a fresh banana in a smoothie!

Alright, time to log off and enjoy my vacation day! 

Leave a Reply

