Running With Rihanna

Thank god I listened to the Rihanna station on Pandora this morning!  That station (plus, overdosing on energy chews/gu’s) got me through my 10 mile run.  Good-bye “Pink” station and hello Rihanna. :D

I was up bright n’ early so I could have a glass of water, half a Luna bar and a bunch of energy chews.  By 5:45 I was ready for my run.  I took off towards downtown crossing, through the Boston Commons, and out to the Charles River.

My body felt great for the first 5-6 miles but I knew I should take my energy gu before I started to drag.  I searched for a water fountain so I could take the gu with water but head no luck!  Grrrrr!  So I ran my sweaty self over to a Starbuck’s and asked for a cup of water…….   go Starbuck’s! 

Overall, I felt great during the run (much better than last Saturday’s 9 miler).  My right knee and hip started to hurt around mile 8 but hopefully stretching, icing and foam rolling will help them out. POSITIVE THOUGHTS :D

Let’s rewind to last night……

Dinner

Last night I whipped up a couple of ham, cheese, tomato, avocado panini’s.    Very simple, just like me. :D

Mmm mmm, so good! 

Time to get some stuff done before our weekend camping trip in Maine!  Have an AWESOMEweekend everyone!!!

Comments

  1. Good for you!!! I wish I could get up that early and see the “empty” streets of our town. If I could change ONE thing about myself, it would be my inability to get going in the morning. Great pictures. Good on Starbucks, too — ours always gives me ice water for Bailey, if we stop in to write out on their patio, after the dog park. :)

    • Thanks!!! Yeah some days it’s a struggle getting up at 5 but I’m more of a morning person so I’d rather get up and get it over with (especially in the summer when the days get so hot!) :D

  2. I love this! I wish I could get up that early to run too it’s so beautiful and peaceful. In all the long runs I did around the city I always went later in the day when there’s big crowds. It’s like a whole new world that early in the day!

    By the way, I am totally loving your posts with pictures, updates, food, etc. It’s perfect and motivating. I think I may have to go for a run later today.

    Enjoy your weekend camping in Maine sounds like fun! Maybe we can plan a running date together soon? :)

    • THANKS CRYSTAL!! :)

      Let’s go for a wknd run soon! It’s been hard getting together this summer but there should be less going on this fall? Can you run distance right now or does it still hurt?

      Hope you have a greet wknd too!

  3. Sam Fisher says:

    Julie, what kind of energy chews do you have?

Leave a Reply

