Chocolate Covered Strawberry Smoothie

Very exciting news!  My guest post will be over on The Paleo Project blog today! Check it out! :D
 

Guess what?  My plan worked yesterday…..   I made it to the gym after work.  Coffee around 3:30pm + changing into my gym clothes before leaving work = gym time!  I don’t know why I get so damn sleepy in the afternoon but thankfully this idea worked so I’ll be able to do more afternoon workouts, yay.

Today

I ran to the track this morning and actually completed a pretty decent track workout. 

I ended up doing repeat 200’s.  Sprint 200, slowly jog 200, repeat without stopping.  I probably could have pushed it a little harder but the muggyness (is that a word?) was killing me.  I believe if you’re training for a longer race (such as a half marathon) then you’re supposed to do further repeats and not 200’s?  Does anyone know if that’s true??  But I figured I’d start small and work my way up to repeat 800’s in the next couple weeks.

Breakfast

I knew that after a hot, sweaty track workout the only thing I would want for breakfast would be a cold smoooooothie.  I prepared the smoothie last night so there’d be less work and clean-up in the kitchen this morning.  I just threw it in the fridge while still in the blender, gave it a quick blend this morning and it was ready to go! :D 

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Smoothie

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 3/4 cup strawberries
  • 1 med. frozen banana
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 2 ices cubes

So good!  Anytime I can have chocolate for breakfast and make it healthy is a good day in my book. :)

Time to get ready for work.  Have a great a day, everyone!

Comments

  1. squirrel circus says:

    That looks SO delicious…what a great chocolatey start to your morning!

  2. I just stumbled upon your blog via your guest post at Paleo Project- your posts are great! I’m also a Boston girl, so I love finding blogs of other Bostonians. Aaaand that smoothie looks awesome, and I’m totally trying it tomorrow for my post-workout snack! :)

Trackbacks

  1. […] Chocolate Covered Strawberry Smoothie […]

Leave a Reply

