Q&A Thursday: Following A Paleo Diet

I’m going to start a new feature on the blog, titled “Q & A Thursday”.  This week, I sent a list of questions to my friend and fellow coworker, Jacki Robson.   Jacki has been following a  paleo diet for about a year and was the first person to introduce me to the word and lifestyle.  If you’re not familiar with the paleo diet (aka the caveman diet) check out this site for more info: Paleo Diet

And here’s my Q & A with Jacki:

1) How did you get started with the paleo lifestyle?

I began introducing paleo to my lifestyle about a year after I graduated from college. A friend I graduated high school with started a blog about being paleo and why she decided to try it. After reading her blog day in and day out and doing additional research, I decided that it could have a very positive impact on my life as well.

2) What’s your typical grocery list each week?

Since I only feed my boyfriend and I my grocery list is never very long. Depending what we are in the mood for I may stop and pick up extras throughout the week.  Typical items you can find on my shopping list are:

  • Bananas
  • Blueberries
  • Strawberries
  • Bell Peppers
  • Onions
  • Asparagus
  • Zucchini
  • Avocado
  • Chicken
  • Grass-fed ground Beef
  • Grass-fed steak
  • Ground turkey
  • Coconut Milk
  • Almond Butter

  • Eggs
  • Bacon

*The produce varies each week depending on what’s on sale, or what looks fresh.

3) What are some of your new favorite paleo meals?

 A few all-time favorites are:

  • Bunless grass-fed burgers with bacon, avocado, goat milk feta, onion and mustard

  • Steak Tips with mushroom and bacon sauté over them
  • Spaghetti squash with whatever sauce you feel like whipping up!

4) Is the paleo lifestyle easy or hard to maintain?

It depends on the situation. If I cook at home every day, then it’s easy. But when I go out and am tempted with no-paleo treats, it’s hard. It’s all about finding the balance where you feel great but aren’t neglecting yourself.

5) What do you eat at parties or when you go out to eat?

Since many dishes won’t be paleo at parties I try to stick to things that have the most nutrition.  I will also bring a yummy paleo dish so I know there is SOMETHING I am comfortable eating. Of course, I don’t neglect myself when it comes to the chips and dip bowl :0) but I try to fill my plate with the most veggies or fruit salad (2 things that are always at parties) so I’m not reaching for more chips!

                                Ingredients for paleo cookies

When I am out to eat I usually go for the fish or chicken dishes.  Instead of the fries or potatoes that come with it, I ask to substitute with the vegetables or side salad.

6) What’s the most challenging part of eating paleo?

The most challenging part of eating paleo, for me, is staying away from the sugar. I have a sweet tooth and sometimes I just can’t seem to satisfy it without a cookie or piece of cake!

The most challenging part about living the paleo lifestyle is socializing. When I am constantly on the go and not home very often it’s hard to always find paleo options.

 7) What’s your advice to anyone trying to eat a paleo diet?

Don’t give up. It’s all about progress. It’s something I constantly work on. Of course I indulge and am not 100% paleo 100% of the time, but once you begin noticing how much better you FEEL when you are eating clean, you will be able to say “no” to those foods you never imagined you would.

Thank you, Jacki!! :D

Comments

  1. I loved this! Go both of you!!!

Leave a Reply

