Chocolate Cherry Protein Smoothie

Hello, hello!  I hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

Question for ya:  Can you eat healthy at a bbq or is it really difficult?  For me it’s a challenge.  Mike and I attended my neighbor’s BBQ yesterday afternoon and I knew I should go into the party with a game plan (and really stick to it this time!)  I usually start off fairly healthy and slowly end up pigging out on anything and everything in sight.  This time I was going to practice will power!

Here’s a couple of the rules I tried to follow:

  • Drink water and not just beer.
  • Take a loop around to check out all the food before digging in.
  • Do not stand near a food table!
  • Start with veggies and fruits (whenever I start with healthy foods, it’s easier sticking with them).
  • Don’t eat crap that I can eat anytime, such as Doritos and tortilla chips.
  • 1 dessert, so pick wisely.
  • Have protein with my meal.

And surprisingly my game plan worked!!  I also reminded myself that a BBQ isn’t all about the food, it’s about hanging-out and catching up with friends and family…  :D

Mid-Morning Snack

Once again I was craving a cold, tasty smoothie today.  I decided to mix it up by adding the dark sweet cherries that we had in the fridge.  I also wanted it to be a filling smoothie so I knew a scoop of protein powder as a must. And to make it even better I threw some chocolate shavings to the top of the glass.  Perfect-O. :)

 Chocolate Cherry Protein Smoothie

Combine the following in the blender:

  • 1 cup pitted dark sweet cherries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons raw honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

**Top the smoothie with chocolate shavings.

This smoothie is loaded with protein and antioxidants!  ENJOY!

Comments

  1. Yummy lookin’ smoothie! I’ve never thoguht of adding cherries! Were they hard to pit??

Trackbacks

  1. […] Dark Chocolate Cherry Smoothie […]

Leave a Reply

