Strawberry Banana Overnight Oats

Hola mi amigos!

This morning I “slept in” till 6 and I feel great!  My alarm went off at 4:55 but I turned the damn thing off and opted for more zzzzzz’s instead (some days you just need sleep more than you need the gym :))  For my workout today, I’ll either join my coworkers for a lunch time bike ride or hit up the gym after work.  I’m leaning towards the bike ride but I haven’t been on a bike in years so I’ll see how far they’re riding today and then decide……  I just don’t want to be the slow poke holding everyone back.

Slow and steady……

Breakfast

Today’s breakfast was strawberry banana overnight oats.  I tried this for breakfast yesterday (but with blueberry yogurt) and wasn’t a big fan.  It was too soggy and resembled baby food.  But since every blogger I follow raves about this breakfast I figured I’d try it one more time and see if  the odd, mushy texture had grown on me.  And it didn’t.  Maybe if I try different ingredients then it’ll taste better?  Or maybe I’m just not cut out for overnight oats?  I’d much rather stick with my new favorite sumertime breakfast, The Smoothie.

I combined the following ingredients in a tupperware container and stored it in the fridge last night:

  • 2/3 cup old fashion oats
  • 1 strawberry banana Chobani yogurt
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon flax-seed

I also added a sliced banana to the bowl this morning and stirred it up.

Oh overnight oats…. you have failed me :(

Question:  Do you like overnight oats?  If so, what ingredients do you include? 

P.S. I have to give a shout out to the birthday boy Rocky for turning 2 yesterday!  I completely forgot about his birthday and neglected to buy him any treats/gifts, so I gave him a lovely paper plate loaded with tuna fish. What a lucky cat! :D

HAPPY BIRTDAY, ROCKY!!!

 

Leave a Reply

