Too Hot To Run

Running is hard.  Especially in the heat and humidity.  I would easily choose to run in the freezing cold and snowy winter than the hot, humid, gross summer.  I’m just not a fan of the heat and never have been.  So when I checked the forecast for this morning and it showed 80’s and super muggy I knew my planned 5 mile run was out the window.  Instead I did what I could, and that was walk/jog intervals for 40 minutes.  It was still a decent workout that left me very sweaty and tired.  Plus, I think any workout (even walking) is better than doing nothing.

I LOVE WATER! Lots and lots of water!

Breakfast

All I could think about during my walk/jog was drinking a cooooold smoothie.  I was also craving something healthy since I pigged out on poutine fries at happy hour last night (have you guys ever had them?  french fries topped with goat cheese and gravy….  OMG they’re so freakin’ good!)  So this morning, a breakfast with lots of nutrients was in order:

Banana Berry Protein Smoothie

  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 ice cubes
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder

I filled my glass to the tippity top and then drank the leftovers right out of the blender. :)  So good and filling!

Alright, time to get some work done!

Question:Do you run outside in the morning or evening on hot summer days?  Or do you prefer running inside on the treadmill?  I usually (except for today because I’m crazy) opt for the treadmill at the gym but only if the AC is on. ;)

Comments

  1. After 7pm a run along the water is perfect on a hot summer night!

  2. treadmill all the way for me!

  3. Caitlyn says:

    Walking is just as good of a workout :) I have gone for walks on my ‘recovery days’ during marathon training and been more sore the next day than I have from my long runs! Added bonus: working your muscle groups differently than they are used to!

Leave a Reply

