Spicy Mango Shrimp

Hi friends!

So I never made it to the gym last night….  by the time I got home from work I was feeling sick/tired/unmotivated.  Instead of the gym, I did laundry, cleaned and attempted to create a new paleo pancake recipe but failed at that too.  Yesterday kinda sucked, huh? 

Today is gonna be different!  It’s already gorgeous outside AND I’ve finished my workout.  I woke up early and ran a half mile to the gym, did the 1000 rep workout, and then ran outside for another 15 minutes.  I switched up some of the exercise moves, spaced out the pushups (50 in a row is too hard for me), and also used less weights than the recommedation below.  But the workout was great and left me tired and sweaty.  There’s such a variety of exercises that this workout never gets old :)

Alright let’s talk about something more exciting: last nights dinner. 

Dinner

Mike and I love any meal involving shrimp so when my sister-in-law, Christie sent us the “Spicy Mango Shrimp” recipe I knew we’d have to make it right away.  Plus, we never really eat mango so it was nice adding a different ingredient to our dinner.  Mike prepped and cooked the dinner in about 20 minutes.  He also bought the 90 second microwave rice so this helped shorten the cooking time.  I’m always hungry after work and therefore he has a small window of time before I get really hunggggrrrryyy, aka cranky.  Thankfully, dinner was ready to go in no time at all and tasted delicious!!  It was definitely a bit spicy but the mango helped cool it down. 

Spicy Mango Shrimp (courtesy of Christie Totten and MyRecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic (not included…  I’m not a huge garlic fan)
  • 1 teaspoon red chili flakes
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil leaves
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • about 12 ounces peeled shrimp
  • 2 cups cubed frozen or fresh mango
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut (not included since we forgot to pick it up)
  • Jasmine rice (we used 90 second Thai lime rice)

Directions

1) Heat oil in large frying pan over medium heat and sauté onions until golden brown, about 5 minutes.

2) Add garlic (optional), chile flakes, basil, soy sauce, lime juice, and shrimp; cook, stirring often, until shrimp turn pink, 3 to 5 minutes.

3) Add mango and cook until warm.

4) Sprinkle with toasted coconut and serve with rice.

That’s it…   Such a quick, easy, healthy meal.  Perfect for a work night :)

Comments

  1. did you use fresh or frozen mango? I would LOVE to try this. I’m not a big shrimp fan, but I’ll try it for you!

  2. Kate – you don’t like shrimp?? I wouldn’t have guessed that! Mike used frozen mango for the recipe. I’m sure the meal would also taste great wtih kilbasa or another meat if you you’re not a shrimp eater? :)

Leave a Reply

