California Avocado Chicken Salad

Last night I made one of my all time favorite salad recipes!  I often make this salad in the summer when I’m planning on having people over.  I simply prep the salad and dressing and leave them in the fridge until it’s time to eat.  No cooking + guests + cocktails = a perfect night for the host :)

California Avocado Chicken Salad

*Inspired by Allrecipes.com and BarbTotten

Ingredients:

  • 1 avocado, peeled and pitted
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup light mayo (I use a little less)
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • romaine lettuce
  • 3 ounces shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2 green onions
  • black olives
  • tortilla chips
  • grilled chicken breasts (or shrimp is also a great option)

Directions:

  1. In the blender, combine the avocado, lemon juice, light mayo, hot pepper sauce, olive oil, & salt.  Process until smooth.  Chill in the fridge.
  2. In a large bowl, toss together the lettuce, cheddar cheese, diced tomatoes, green onions, black olives.
  3. When you’re ready to eat, just add the grilled chicken on the salad, top it with crumbled tortilla chips, and then add the dressing.

Sweet potato chips & bean dip from Wilson Farm

One of my adorable guests…..   :)

And the meal.  ENJOY!

Comments

  1. Christie says:

    Love the blog! I’m going to make this sometime this week.

  2. Very good site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any community forums that
    cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get advice from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. […] 1) My all time favorite salad! (courtesy of Barb Totten): California Avocado Chicken Salad […]

Leave a Reply

